Microwave Sponge Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was dangerously easy, and very good. I added 2 TBSP of cocoa powder to the recipe and microwaved for 3:15. I was expecting the wobbly goodness of an American pudding- but was surprised with a yummy cake (I forgot about the English to American translation in my haste for a late night chocolate fix)! I'll be making this again and again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
A simple and quick recipe, but very delicious. A light and spongy texture enjoyed with custard. Highly recommended if you have a spare 15 mins and fancy something sweet and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I didn't have a lot of faith in this recipe, but it turned out so light and yummy, I'm sure I'll use it again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Do NOT expect a pudding with this recipe, but more of a dense pound cake (having attended culinary school in England, I know that "pudding" is just a general term for dessert in Britain). That said, I was still hoping for something in between a pudding and cake or at least extremely moist given the instructions to cook till the top was "jiggly." Not so--this is 100% cake. Cooking time is way off. You only need to microwave it for 1.5-2 minutes; if you did 3.5 minutes you would end up with a dry and tough textured cake. On its own, this is a rather bland and unfulfilling cake. To redeem it, I topped it with freshly sliced strawberries and some cream, and that was very tasty. If you need an instant and dense cake (do not expect anything light or fluffy) to serve as a base for some type of dessert sauce/custard/fruit, this will do the job, but otherwise I can't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Pudding??? NO WAY!! but an AWESOME microwave cake!! I don't know where I went wrong but I'm glad I did.. IT was just too easy to believe. EXCELLENT recipe. OH boy cant wait to make it again. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plutosangel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I used this receipe to make small fairy cakes. I made 8, but microwaved them 4 at a time incase the first batch didn't work out. I put the cake cases on a pyrex dish and cooked in full power for a minute and a quarter. The cakes came out really well, although they were rather oddly shaped as they weren't done in a cake tin. I iced them with glace icing so they were fantastically quick to make for my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very quick and easy. Found 3 mins was enough as it dried out a bit, otherwise yum, will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Pretty good for a really quick dessert. I didn't have self-rising flour, so I made some by adding 3/4 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt to a 1/2 cup all-purpose flour. I also added a small splash of vanilla and about a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. I dividing the batter among 4 ramekins to make individual servings and microwaved them for 1:45. I thought the cake turned out light and fluffy, but my husband thought it was a bit dry. Topping it with some homemade strawberry jam and a dollop of whipped cream was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This came out a little dry. It was ok with some syrup on it. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
It was delicous, real tasty if you serve it wth some custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States