Microwave Sponge Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was wonderful! I put a tablespoon of golden syrup in the bottom. I only cooked it for 3mins and it was a perfect consistancy!! I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkes, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Warrens, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
easy, goes well with custard. I put some golden syrup in the bottom of the bowl before i cooked it and it was tastier and moist. I cooked it for 3m15sec
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Quick and easy to make. The quantities struck me as a bit on the small side - I doubled it for my family of four and it was just right. Maybe we're just greedy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Banbury, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Pudding??? NO WAY!! but an AWESOME microwave cake!! I don't know where I went wrong but I'm glad I did.. IT was just too easy to believe. EXCELLENT recipe. OH boy cant wait to make it again. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plutosangel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
It was delicous, real tasty if you serve it wth some custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Do NOT expect a pudding with this recipe, but more of a dense pound cake (having attended culinary school in England, I know that "pudding" is just a general term for dessert in Britain). That said, I was still hoping for something in between a pudding and cake or at least extremely moist given the instructions to cook till the top was "jiggly." Not so--this is 100% cake. Cooking time is way off. You only need to microwave it for 1.5-2 minutes; if you did 3.5 minutes you would end up with a dry and tough textured cake. On its own, this is a rather bland and unfulfilling cake. To redeem it, I topped it with freshly sliced strawberries and some cream, and that was very tasty. If you need an instant and dense cake (do not expect anything light or fluffy) to serve as a base for some type of dessert sauce/custard/fruit, this will do the job, but otherwise I can't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is short one star only because I didn't know what to expect. I never tried Yorkshire Pudding before. I didn't have self-rising flour, so I substituted with flour and added 3/4 tsp baking powder. I didn't know how to work the power level on my microwave, so let it cook for 4 minutes instead of 3-1/2. I think I overdid it because the end result was a sponge cake. So, not a pudding like I expected but still a GREAT QUICK recipe for sweet comfort dessert. The recipe could use more vanilla. I will make it again. I loved that it wasn't too sweet and could be dolled up nicely with jam, syrup, or berries (baked in or on the side.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
it turned out dry.i cooked for 3 minutes,next time i will reduce the time,otherwise a very quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was dangerously easy, and very good. I added 2 TBSP of cocoa powder to the recipe and microwaved for 3:15. I was expecting the wobbly goodness of an American pudding- but was surprised with a yummy cake (I forgot about the English to American translation in my haste for a late night chocolate fix)! I'll be making this again and again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Exactly like my grandma used to make we loved it and it is so quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellon, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States