Microwave Spiced Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These are great! I made them for holiday gifts for the neighbors. I increased the amount of cinnamon, roasted the pecans at 400 for about 7 minutes before starting and then sprinkled with kosher salt afterwards. They turned out really good! And SO easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I give it 5 stars due to the ease of this recipe. I have made several batches on these spiced nuts and I always try something a little different with each batch. I slightly toast the nuts before adding to the mixture. I also followed other advice by added a couple of sprinkles of cayenne pepper and have salted the nuts after coming out of the microwave. I have also added in a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the batch. My family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Mine did not turn out well, which is probably b/c of the cook, not the recipe. The nuts were chewy and sticky. I didn't use real butter - so that could have been the problem? Def. easy to prepare, may try again around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Excellent. I only made three tweaks. I had a jar of unsalted roasted peanuts, and the hubby will not eat unsalted. So, I decided to try this recipe to use those up. I added about 1/4 t. of cayenne pepper, cooked in the mic. as written, but sprinkled with a little kosher salt after I spread them on the parchment while they were still hot. Delish. Will do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Great for holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I made a batch of these, and I personally thought they were just okay. But I gave most of them to The Woman I Love, and she loved them (she said she'd give them a 5-star rating herself). A friend of hers also tried some and she liked them too. For the record, I used unsalted butter, and I cooked the nuts for a total of 5 minutes. Maybe this turned out wrong for me, but I was expecting a glazed or candy-coated nut, and these were more sugar-coated. They were okay, but I won't make them again for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Love the ease of this recipe! Made a half batch using whole almonds (which I toasted ahead of time) and 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/8 tsp cayenne for the seasoning. Came out pretty well. There was extra glaze that I should have tried to leave in the bottom of the dish instead of pouring it all out onto the parchment paper, but I separated the nuts and it was o.k. Some of the nuts had a thicker coating of the glaze than others, and that glaze doesn't harden completely (it get's caramel-like). I'll definitely use this recipe again, but will tinker with the seasonings to give the nuts more of a flavor kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These were ok. I made these at the same time I made the sugar coated pecans from this site. These were done first and I liked them but once the others were done, they were super Yummy while these microwave ones were just ok. Guests thought the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This are very good and so simple. I've made them twice now. The first time was as written. The second time i toasted the nuts first, left out the nutmeg, upped the cinnamon to 2 tsp and added 1/2 tsp salt. That made them just the way we like them. Oh, and discovered that if you over cook them (that was 5 minutes in my microwave) they turn out more like a hard glaze then sugared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Excellent recipe. I made a few changes to make it lower in carbs. Used 1/3 C. Splenda and added a handful of brown sugar, added 1 t. chili powder, omitted the nutmeg (added a shake of cloves instead); upped cinnamon to 1 1/2 t. Mixed in almonds and salted cashews. YUMMY! I was worried that the Splenda would give an after taste, but it didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States