Microwave Spiced Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This recipe is a definite keeper!! My granddaughter said "Grandma don't ever stop making those nuts". Thank you for providing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great recipe! I too prefer the nuts to be a little crisper (oven-toasted), but you can't beat the ease of this recipe. The batch I made was eaten up in no time that same day! Thanks for sharing Mom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Oh my gosh! Love these nuts! I made them exactly as the recipe stated. DELISH!!! I have since made them with the Cayenne Pepper as someone else recommended for a bit of a kick -mmm, mmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
2009: PHENOMENAL!!! I substituted orange juice for the water, and 1/2 t Chinese 5 spice powder for 1/2 t cinnamon. I had enough caramel sauce to coat 16 oz (4 cups) of walnuts. The cooking time totaled 5 minutes, and I cooled the nuts on a cookie sheet that I'd sprayed w/ butter-flavor Pam. The nuts were soft while they were hot, but crisped up after they cooled, tho the caramel stayed slightly sticky. DH tasted and thought they needed "something" so I sprinkled the cooled nuts w/ a few good pinches of salt, and that seemed to do the trick. I just packed them back into the original Diamond walnut container (after I covered it in wrapping paper and added ricrac to the lid!). This is a new holiday favorite! 2010: Gave these to a friend who was heading out on the road (apparently they didn't last past the state line...), and to coworkers for Christmas gifts, to RAVE reviews. 2011: One of the guys to whom I gave these last Christmas used his to make baked French toast for their family's Christmas breakfast. I haven't seen him in months, but I got a call from him shortly before this Christmas, asking for this recipe, as his newly pregnant daughter-in-law was asking for his baked French toast with the spiced nuts in it like he'd made last year! 2013: Made these for coworkers for Super Bowl snacks, to the usual rave reviews; used walnuts, pecans and almonds, changed up the spices...I will NEVER tire of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I've made this many times...so easy and I've mixed up the spices using an apple pie spice or pumpkin pie spice. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
These are amazing! Now I'm excited to experiment with adding new flavors - thanks for a fabulous treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aaronskeiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
worked well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
these are very good and easy to make...just make sure not to burn them. I do add 1/4 teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These are great! I made them for holiday gifts for the neighbors. I increased the amount of cinnamon, roasted the pecans at 400 for about 7 minutes before starting and then sprinkled with kosher salt afterwards. They turned out really good! And SO easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I give it 5 stars due to the ease of this recipe. I have made several batches on these spiced nuts and I always try something a little different with each batch. I slightly toast the nuts before adding to the mixture. I also followed other advice by added a couple of sprinkles of cayenne pepper and have salted the nuts after coming out of the microwave. I have also added in a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the batch. My family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States