Microwave Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
A good way to get dinner on the table, especially in summer, when time is short. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
These were great after I mixed in pepper and a can of cream of mushroom....I did add more potatoes and upped the recipe to 8 servings so it wasn't runny because of the added soup. Mix in some shredded cheese at the end and they're even better! Super fast...I have a feeling this will be a go to recipe at the camper this fall!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Awesome recipe! I always want to make Scalloped Potatoes but I am always in a hurry. This recipe tastes just like the baked kind. The only thing I did changed was that I diced the potatoes instead of slicing. It made sense to me because you are stirring them throughout the cooking process. I didn't want to end up with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I thought these were pretty good. However note: I had 4 baked potatoes leftover (so mine were already cooked). I just peeled and sliced them. Since the potatoes were already cooked I decided to saute the onion in the butter until softened and I added the salt to that. I cut the amount of salt in half, as I tend to do for most recipes. It was plenty. I added some paprika straight to the flour. I mixed it all together and poured the milk over as directed. I covered it with plastic wrap and microwaved it for 6 minutes. After 3 minutes it was still a little liquidy, so I stirred in another spoonful of flour and put it back in the microwave to finish cooking. It thickened up and was creamy. To add a little more flavor I stirred in about 1/2 cup fine shredded cheddar mixed with jalepeno pepper cheese. Although, it was not needed. Thanks, for a quick and easy side tonight with what I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I have made similar recipes before. I thought it was very good, a bit bland, but it's supposed to be. I used dried parsley on top, and a bit of paprika. They added color and flavor. Microwave ovens can vary a lot in their wattage, and therefore it impacts the cooking times. ALSO very important --- don't make the potato slices too thick! It makes them take too long to cook. Keep them a uniform thickness, it helps. And stir every 5 minutes, as the recipe states. I used only about half of the salt, as I don't like it. Hubby loved it, too. Yummy! : ) post by Fun2cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I was looking for a scallop potato recipe to cook in my microwave as I didn't want to heat up the house with the oven. It was 97 degrees AND humid today! This fit the bill; it was delicious and cut the cooking time drastically. Just one note though, if you're watching your salt cut in half or even more. I used 1 t. salt and it was still plenty salty. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaAnaDana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Sooo good!! I added some cubed ham to the mix, making it a complete meal and family loved it! HD said I can make these for dinner anytime lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This came out great and so easy. I used onion powder instead of fresh onion and baked in the oven for 15 minutes after microwaving just to brown a bit and crisp the top but, I'm sure it would have been just as good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
These turned out great! Didn't have enough room in the oven so I found this recipe as my Plan B. I used half milk and half cream and added a good sprinkle of garlic powder. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Love this...(Finally figured out to avoid boil over)...I do not use optional items, but add cubed ham for additional flavor. I microwave UNCOVERED for about 5 mins. on high power (1000 watt oven), stir, then micro 5 mins. more at 70% power; stir again and micro 5 mins. +/-longer at 60% power. This way, there is no splatter or boil over for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States