Microwave Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
Excellent. Used slicing blade on food processor to make slicing potatoes a breeze. Ended up with uniform slices. Used 2 t salt as written. Tossed with 2 T flour. Melted 4 T butter and mixed it in (we like butter!) Used heavy cream instead of milk. Easy and so much faster than oven method. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
These were pretty good. I followed the recipe as written, including the optional parsley and paprika. They were too salty for my taste and could have benefited from more onion . I'll reduce the salt and up the onion next time. They were actually better the next day as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I just made this tonight, and it came out GREAT! I used six potatoes instead of four (there were six of us eating), and I should have left it in the microwave a few more minutes (probably 20) - of course, my microwave isn't the world's greatest either.... As the oven was already on (baked ribs) I threw some cheese over it at the end and browned it up. But this is the EASIEST as well as one of the TASTIEST scalloped potato recipes I have tried, and it is way easier than trying to make them in the oven (which can take a LONG time....). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I've been doing it this way for years and it comes out perfect every time. Fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I was looking for a scallop potato recipe to cook in my microwave as I didn't want to heat up the house with the oven. It was 97 degrees AND humid today! This fit the bill; it was delicious and cut the cooking time drastically. Just one note though, if you're watching your salt cut in half or even more. I used 1 t. salt and it was still plenty salty. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaAnaDana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Sooo good!! I added some cubed ham to the mix, making it a complete meal and family loved it! HD said I can make these for dinner anytime lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This came out great and so easy. I used onion powder instead of fresh onion and baked in the oven for 15 minutes after microwaving just to brown a bit and crisp the top but, I'm sure it would have been just as good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
These turned out great! Didn't have enough room in the oven so I found this recipe as my Plan B. I used half milk and half cream and added a good sprinkle of garlic powder. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Gray Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Love this...(Finally figured out to avoid boil over)...I do not use optional items, but add cubed ham for additional flavor. I microwave UNCOVERED for about 5 mins. on high power (1000 watt oven), stir, then micro 5 mins. more at 70% power; stir again and micro 5 mins. +/-longer at 60% power. This way, there is no splatter or boil over for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I have made similar recipes before. I thought it was very good, a bit bland, but it's supposed to be. I used dried parsley on top, and a bit of paprika. They added color and flavor. Microwave ovens can vary a lot in their wattage, and therefore it impacts the cooking times. ALSO very important --- don't make the potato slices too thick! It makes them take too long to cook. Keep them a uniform thickness, it helps. And stir every 5 minutes, as the recipe states. I used only about half of the salt, as I don't like it. Hubby loved it, too. Yummy! : ) post by Fun2cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States