Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
The end result of this recipe is a very suprisingly good dish. I say 'suprisingly' because getting to the end result (for me, at least) was a challenge. I have a 1000-watt microwave, so on the first go-round (with the butter and oil) I reduced it as said to 70% power, however the mixture of butter and oil sounded like explosives in my microwave after only a few seconds. It made a great deal of mess, even after I added a saran-wrap cover to the top of the dish. After adding the rice, I reduced the power to 50%, and cooked as directed which seemed to do the trick. I continued at 50% power for the rest of the cooktime and it did end up turning out a prety quick and really tasty dish, something my whole family (of non-rice eaters) enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mentone, Indiana, USA
Photo by Elisa Sue
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
First time having it, and later when at a 'taste of south bend' fair, I took one bite of a risotto and turned it down because it didn't taste nearly as great as this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
QUICK AND EASY!!This recipe was great!! I added chopped mushrooms to give it more flavor. I also used brown rice, and although it was not as fluffy as white, it was still VERY tasty!!!! I will be making this again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Problem 1: Too salty Problem 2: onion gets overdone Problem 3: not enough like regular risotto Having said that, it's too not bad for a microwave dish but needs adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This was pretty good! I started off cooking at 60% power based on previous review, then switched to 50% after I added the broth, since my onions had browned a lot! (My microwave is 1200 watts) Not too creamy, though might add the extra water next time. And just a little too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Delicious! My husband said that it was like eating at a good restaurant. I omitted the salt, used reduced salt chicken broth (used about 1/2 cup more than the recipe calls for), and cut down the cooking time on the rice by a couple of minutes. Delicious, and so much easier than traditional risotto recipes I've found. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was so yummy! I had to tweak the timing a bit, but the result was very creamy. Less work than the stovetop method, and allows you to do other things while it's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Had to change the times a little and had the rice burn a little, but after scooping out the burnt part, it tasted delicious! Added some chopped up portobello mushrooms and will try broccoli. Five stars for the amount of work put in in relationship to the flavor. Mmm mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This was a good rice dish. It was my first attempt at risotto and somehow, I was expecting something more unique. I'll try reducing the power. I cooked at 100% power the whole time, but reduced the time I cooked it by about 5 minutes (for the second 9 minutes). I used 1 can of low sodium chicken broth, and one boullion cube and it wasn't too salty. I covered it with waxed paper and it didn't make much of a mess. I'd try cooking at a lower power next time as my onions also burned a little, but not so much to ruin the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very good.... but I used 2 beef boullion cubes ... and added it to my osso buco and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States