Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I grew up in New Orleans and have eaten a truck load of pralines in my time...this recipe makes the chore easy and tastes pretty authentic! You will probably have to adjust your cook time depending on your microwave - my first batch was too dry to hold together. I cut back the time by 1 minute and they came out perfect. My only other advice is to choose the best quality pecans available...they really will make-or-break the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
These were AMAZING! I did the recipe in an 1100W microwave, and I followed it exactly, and they were really good! The only thing I will do different is that I would definatley make the pecans smaller, and work a lot quicker! I stirred for 1 minute and it was already getting hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I usually follow the recipe exactly as it is written the first time and tweak later if needed for my tastes. Had to use 1/2 cup of white sugar because I ran out of brown and I used butter. Cooked in my 950 watt microwave in a 2.5 quart bowl for 10 minutes with no burning or bubbling over. I added the pecans after the cooking time and I forgot to let it rest. They still turned out like they were suppose to. Seems like a pretty fool proof recipe to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Took these to a New Orleans party at the home of folks born and raised there. I asked what they thought - and she would be honest - both husband and wife thought they were better than what they normally buy there to bring home. She asked for the recipe! My only modifications: I used chopped pecans, and I only cooked for eight minutes. It did take longer than three minutes to cool enough - about six, I would say. I made them small for the party and got 32 pieces (and came home with none.) If this recipe doesn't work for you the first time, it is definitely worth trying again using some of the modifications suggested in the reviews. This recipe is going in my "favorites" file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
OMG is right. Made these for my sons wedding rehersal dinner. What a success. They were perfect. I have never made pralines before or even really ate one. But wanted an Mexican Dessert to give to the wedding party and family. Everyone raved about them. Be careful though, they are addictive and you will gain weight ratherly quickly. I made no changes to the receipe or directions given. conrae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Modified to make it dairy free: replaced margarine with 2 tablespoons of Earth Balance buttery spread; replaced heavy cream with 2/3 cup coconut vanilla milk beverage (So Delicious) and 1 tablespoon of creamed coconut (Let's do Organic brand). Also, I roasted the pecans at 400 for about 10 min (till they smelled roasted) before adding to mixture. After the microwaving, I did put mixture in a saucepan over the cooktop to further tighten the liquid b/c without the heavy cream, it needed a little more cooking. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Omg so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I guess, all microwaves are different. This did not work out for me. I was really hoping it would work, but was skeptical as I have made homemade praline candies and they have to be the proper temperature and monitored well on the stove-top. This seemed too good to be true and it was. After the first 4.5 minutes it seemed fine. Then, I stirred it and put it back in the microwave and it started burning from the center around minute 6. It smoked up my microwave and smelled up my kitchen. I had to use boiling water to clean the hardened burnt sugar off of the bowl and utencils. Also, not too happy about the waste of good ingredients, especially pecans that are very pricy right now. I followed the directions here, exactly, is all I can say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe is fabulous!! Did exactly per directions and worked perfectly from the first batch!! Just as good as the ones in Charleston!! Printed out 4 recipes to make and compare but never even tried the rest after I made this one first! No way they could be better! Love them!!!! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I don't know what tis recipe is but it isn't pralines. Wrong color. Wrong texture. And, it scorched the pecans. A fail all the way around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States