Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mojovirgo
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Super easy. I followed recipe as written and they came out great. I like them a little crumbly with lots of nuts. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Certainly does not make 3 dozen. I got about 15. Otherwise, absolutely lovely. So delicious! It's a good thing I don't normally keep pecans on hand or I'd be making them all the time, they're so easy... This is a perfect recipe when you need something sweet last-minute. I made mine the night before I needed them for a Mardi Gras party. They were perfect, since I didn't have enough time for anything more challenging. But despite how fast and easy this is, they taste almost like the real thing! I'm impressed. Perfect for somebody without much culinary experience, too. This is a tough recipe to mess up, I think. My only criticism apart from the amount yielded would be that some may prefer to use pecan pieces/chopped pecans, as opposed to the halves. I like the big pieces, personally, but I know a lot of people don't. Really, it's personal preference on that front.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I did just as it said, except I couldn't stir for 3 minutes. I believe I have a powerful microwave. I would not cook them as long next time. Also, it said it would make 36 pralines. I got about 12. Could have stretched it to 15 but they were really hardening too fast. I may stick to cooking on the stove or try cooking for 6 mins. They taste fine, but they are dark blobs, not smooth like they should be. I should have read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYCOAT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I love this recipe and have made it for years (I use 2 c. pecans and toast them first and I double the vanilla extract). i think it's most helpful to work quickly while dropping on wax paper before the mixture gets too cool. Suggestion if they start getting dry and grainy before finished dropping on wax paper: add a teaspoon or tablespoon of water (depending on how much mixture is left) and stir - it eliminates that crumbly graininess right away so you can continue with no grainy dry texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I made this recipe upon getting home from a weekend trip where we had stopped at a sweet shop that made everything from bread to candy. The pralines were $2.50 each and were quite small! I found this recipe and it looked so easy I just had to try it. I followed it exactly except I used butter instead of margarine and added more pecans. It turned out perfect and is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
really yummy! everyone at our family Christmas loved them. There was advice I followed about putting the mixing bowl in an ice/cold water bath. I wouldn't do that next time because, though the first 3/4 or so turned out great-smooth and matte, the others were too cold-so they looked rough and were not attractive. Thankfully they tasted the same though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flatroad12
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
First I made 4 separate batches. I tried whipping cream, half and half, and margarine and butter. I tried various combinations to see what I liked better. All came out excellent, but I preferred butter with half and half. I am from New Orleans and this recipe is fantastic and just as good as any traditional recipe!! Later I made 5 more batches and this is what happened. The first 2 did not firm up well. I just scooped them back I the bowl and remicrowaved them. They came out great. I then tripled the recipe to make another large batch. I was very careful because I wasn't sure if this batch would set up. I microwaved it about 30 min in all and kept checking and stirring. About 3-4 times in all. I also used the trick from another reviewer and dropped a tad in ice water. When it balled up, I knew it was ready. This was the best batch of all!!! They we're lose enough to allow the praline to spread out like a traditional praline does. Also, on the others, I did not butter the parchment paper and they were fine, but it is definitely easier and comes out nicer if you butter the paper prior. This is a FANTASTIC and EASY recipe!!! I will NEVER make pralines on the stove again!!! Highly recommend!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Wow. I've never made pralines but I've eaten my share. These were so easy and very delicious. I used butter and stirred for about 5 minutes. I ended up with 12 good sized pralines. Delicious. I'll add these to my Christmas goodie bags. I think everyone will be very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe last night. And it turned out great. It was extremely simple with a beautiful color. My mom is 72 years young and used to the original stove top version. And she loved it!!! So it will be a great dish over the holidays! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States