Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This recipe is so easy you can afford to blow the first batch (some darn fine ice cream topping it was. I am from La. and thought it couldn't be done with pralines, but it's a bona fide microwave recipe. Watch your time -- don't go much beyond 234 degrees, and you may need to cut the last stir step to 2 minutes. Don't be tempted to overdo the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
First time to make pralines. I followed recipe exactly but mine were very runny, about like a loose pecan pie filling. Absolutely delicious, but had to be scraped up with a spoon and eaten. The only thing I can figure out is my microwave (which is not as hot as most) was the culprit. I gave 4 stars only because of the final consistency, otherwise they are a perfect 5 Star. If I could figure out how to make them firm up I would make them again and again. I like the taste better than any I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autoshowcase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I tried these and they were a flop. Surely I did something wrong because they had a five star rating. They set up too fast, turned black and even smelled burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very tasty. However, mine needed to cook longer and took longer than 3 mins to thicken sufficiently. I added some extra nuts and that helped. Family loved them. The recipe made 36 very small pralines, but they are quite rich - a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This recipe is delicious! I can never remember exactly how I made it the time before (did I stir it? Did I cook it the suggested time?) but regardless the flavor is always there. Not one batch has come out the same: some are crystalline, some spread out, etc. but they are always gobbled up without complaint. So while I can't give pointers on how to make it the recipe well, I can say it will be scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
If I would have written this review last year, it would have only gotten one star. The first time I made these, they were way too runny and waiting the extra 30 seconds X4 did not help at all. This year, I followed the recipe to a t - but I read a review about adding the other 1/2 a cup of pecans - that was the clincher. These are delicious and living here in the VERY HUMID state of Mississippi, they set up like a champ. I recommend those living in other humid states to add the extra pecans, it might make a world of difference. I bet my coworkers love these tomorrow as much I have tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe. Came out just like I like them. Very yummy. Made according to recipe directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
chewy pralines, I was hoping for creamy. good recipe, butwatch cooking time. do ice water test or use candy thermometer to make sure you get the right candy stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
As a Louisiana girl, I know a thing or two about pralines but couldn't resist the call of making them in the microwave. My microwave has a higher wattage than most, so it only took about 5-5 1/2 to cook. Here's the awesome part: I used brown sugar splenda and half and half instead of their full-calorie counterparts.... AMAZING!!! I'm fully prepared to run through the streets extolling the praises of these delicious babies, I'm that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I spent some time in Chaeleston South Carolina. These are very popular there. That was 4 years ago, and I think about there pralines all the time. This may sound goofy since these are made in a microwave, but WOW they are really good. They taste very close to the ones I ate in Charleston. Great recipe!!! Absolutely delicious. Make these you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States