Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These did not turn out for me. Maybe they needed a little less time in the microwave? The first few seemed like they might be okay (they had a smooth consistency), but the rest were real grainy and got hard really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
so easy to do! I followed the directions exactly (except I used real butter) but was not able to stir for 3 minutes because they started to set up very quickly! They didn't look so pretty but tasted great. My second batch I decreased the time by 1 minute and used about 2 cups pecans and they came out perfect, gorgeous and yummy!! would recommend this simple recipe to anyone! and I guess I make mine big because I only got about a dozen with each batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Followed directions exactly and now my house if full of smoke... old fashioned way on the stove next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I have a 1300 watt oven, but took a chance because my microwave is my friend! I made two batches...first one I cooked for 8 minutes total. It got hard very quickly and I had to add water to make them pliable. The pecans were tasty, not burned, but also only good for small clumps. I did another batch at 7 minutes and they came out just right. For the ease of this recipe over stovetop versions it's worth experimenting with a few cups of pecans even if you don't have a 1000 watter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Yum. Pralines are easy to make in the microwave but you have to watch your time. I zapped them for 3 minutes to start, stirred, then 3 minutes more. After that I took them out every minute and checked the temp with a candy therm until they reached 240 degrees, then added the vanilla and did the stirring (it did take 9 minutes of cook time for me). Three minutes of stirring was just about right. You want to stop stirring just when they start to look cloudy and start firming up a bit. Drop them on parchment as quick as you can, the remaining mixture will continue to harden as it sits, making it harder to scoop. If it seizes up on you or gets too hard, add a spoonful of very hot water and stir until it loosens up. I used an average sized cereal spoon to scoop and got about 2 dozen. Try dipping these in the "Hard Chocolate Glaze" once they are cool, it looks very fancy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
YUM!! And very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
these were awesome! i used real butter, cause i can't stand using margarine for anything. i had to switch to a bigger bowl than i was using at first cause it boiled over, but that was my only issue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Love this recipe! So easy and everyone gobbles them up when I take them places. It takes a little practice to know when to stop stirring and start dropping, but once you get that part figured out, you will find this to be the easiest candy ever and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
These are absolutely what I have been looking for for about 20 years since I lost the recipe that I used for my sister in laws wedding. They turn out perfect every time if you do exactly as the recipe suggest. I made 50 large ones in about 1 hr for my sons wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Super easy, but after adding the vanilla the mix began to dry up almost right away. By the time I got them all onto the paper they were totally dry. But they still tasted really really good, not grainy or chewy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States