Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have never posted a bad review till now! I tried these EXACTLY as the recipe is &I checked my candy with a candy thermometer & the temp.was correct but the sugar was still very grainy &I then when you add vanilla it dries it out terribly! I would recommend leaving out vanilla completely, cooking longer with leaving the pecans out so not to burn them &their putting them in last. I will stick to stove top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Texas, USA
Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very good. The first time I went 9 minutes in my little microwave and had some trouble getting them to set up. So next time I decided to go with 12 minutes..not a good idea. They turned into powder on me before I could get them spooned out. To the consistency of brown sugar :( Taste was great on the first batch, going to try again with maybe 10 minutes. Using Mini muffin pan this time instead of leting them spread of wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Actually, I have a question about this recipe. Is this LIGHT brown sugar or DARK? And someone mentioned covering the microwave bowl with plastic wrap. Do I do this, or leave it open? Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
dont make on a rainy day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Good, for a quick Praline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
These are soooo good! They were gone within hours from my family with orders to make some more tomorrow. No problem--They were so easy to make. I lived in Charleston, SC for 16 years and missed pralines so much when moved to the NC mountains. The local candy shop wouldn't make pralines because we were not humid enough. Ha! This recipe can be made on a dry spring day, no problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Blair Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I'm from the Big Easy and this recipe taste just as good if not better, if you follow the exact directions. I have a family member who is known for making pralines and I let her try one that I made. She gave me the dumbs up and was in total disbelief after I explained that the pralines were made in 9 min in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Followed directions as stated. Very tasty and easy. Ready in 20 minutes or less. My mother who is quite a good cook herself, loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
OMGoodness!!!!!!!!  I am so tickled! I made these and they actually turned out very well even though I am NOT a candy maker by ANY stretch of the imagination.  I mixed the sugar & cream, put them in a 5-qt Visions Dutch Oven, (A 3-qt size would have been perfect but I don't have one.). I covered it w/ plastic wrap and cooked it in an 1100-watt Microwave for 11 minutes (I suspect that 10 minutes is enough). I took it out, added the butter, vanilla & warmed pecans, stirred it for 30-60 SECONDS and spooned it out in patties onto a large buttered plate. I ended up making 6 very large ones because the mixture set up very quickly.  Thank you for a wonderful recipe that I make for a l-o-n-g time. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States