Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe is fabulous!! Did exactly per directions and worked perfectly from the first batch!! Just as good as the ones in Charleston!! Printed out 4 recipes to make and compare but never even tried the rest after I made this one first! No way they could be better! Love them!!!! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I don't know what tis recipe is but it isn't pralines. Wrong color. Wrong texture. And, it scorched the pecans. A fail all the way around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
VERY easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I have tried so many times over the years to make pralines on the stovetop. I have never managed to get it right. Today I was craving something sweet and decided to give this recipe a try. I used half and half and butter because that is what I had on hand. It worked perfectly. I had to add 3 min and 15 seconds to the cooking time but I'm sure that was due to the half and half being thinner than cream. I'm so excited! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe - worked as is for me. I didn't change anything except I took it out of the microwave at 8 mins , 30 secs and stirred at 4 mins. I also stirred mine after I took it out and it started to harden before I had them all on the waxed paper. It's a lot like making fudge, you have to pay attention to the timing and consistency. Much easier than making them the old fashioned way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Incredibly easier than other recipes and delicious. My microwave is slower (850 watts), and the time specified here was perfect, so for a newer, faster microwave, I would watch the mixture carefully. My "gold standard" in Pralines are those from River Street Sweets in Savannah and Charleston. These had the same texture and balance of candy to pecans, but were darker in color and the taste from the brown sugar was distinct. I watched them made at the store, and they used all white sugar. On my next attempt at this recipe, I will try 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, adjusting until I can get as close as possible to the ones I bought from River Street Sweets, even if I eventually modify the recipe to use all white sugar. And wow, I'll enjoy the experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Brewster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This recipe was excellent as is. Made it a 2nd time and tried stirring in chocolate chips during the 3 minute cool down. Complete disaster! Mxture became crumbly and ugly. Still tasty though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Fast, easy, and perfect. No need for a candy thermometer AND no need to change any of the ingredients or instructions. I made these on a cold & snowy winter day and they were gone before they were completely cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadPooh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
THESE=AMAZING! I only had one cup of brown sugar, so I used 1/2 c. of white sugar. I also added a splash of Crown Royal from my husband's bar. I ended up microwaving for 12 minutes, stirring every 3 minutes. After twelve minutes, I stirred for 3 minutes straight, and dropped onto cookie sheet with my cookie dough dropper. It made 12 big and delicious pralines, which tasted better than my stove-top pralines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I LOVE these and try to make them each Christmas, and then try NOT to eat them all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENSOLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States