Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
For quick and easy (which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 3), these were pretty good. However, they really don't compare to the Texas Pralines found on this site. They taste OK but are grainy and crumbly. I may make them again if I'm in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I followed this recipe to the T however the pralines were still very runny (thinking it was the heavy cream that caused this) and never hardened. They did smell good however since I added 100% pure vanilla from Mexico, ummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is a wonderful recipie. I have a 1100 watt microwave and the 9 min. cooking time did just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by southerngirl
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
sooooo yummy. my first attempt at pralines. i will be using this recipe from now on. i didnt have any vanilla so i used maple flavoring, delish ! i may have made them to big because it only made 11 pralines. not enuf to share with neighbors. hahah. thanks mallinda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Maysville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Great recipe. I had to microwave mine about a minute longer. I also added an extra handfull of pecans. Very easy, simple recipe. I will be making these again. Next time I might try microwaving half the time and using it as an ice cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Wow! I always thought that you had to buy pralines, now I can make them in my own microwave in 15 minutes. I have a small microwave and I used 11 minutes, no burning or any problems. I had to stir a little longer than 3 minutes for them to cool, but they set up perfectly and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Molly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I tried this recipe when I was making a batch of Sugar Coated Pecans from this site (always awesome). After reading the reviews, I was unsure about the wattage of my microwave so I set the cook time for 6 minutes, stopping at 3:30 to stir, and then cooked 3 more minutes, one minute at a time. Each time I used the cold water soft ball trick to check, and at 8:30 minutes it was done. Incredibly easy!! I used butter as I didn't have margarine and added 1/2 cup of pecans to cut down on the sugar part of each one, and they were perfect. They got rave reviews from everyone, even folks who weren't praline fans and tried them because everyone else said they were good. Give it a whirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I have a 700 watt microwave and cooked for 10 minutes and 30 seconds and they were great the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Ok so the other reviews made this sound so easy and yummy, but, unfortunately, when I tried this recipe it burned everything! I don’t know if everyone knows how bad brown sugar smells burnt, but it stunk up the whole house and it took almost 24 hours to get the smell out of the house. I love pralines and it would be great to make it in the microwave, but I think I’ll stick with the old fashioned way; on the stove. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
These are very easy and just delicious. I, like another reviewer, cannot see how I could have made 36 pieces. I got about 14 very small pralines.I used butter rather than margarine and cooked only 8 minutes. GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States