Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Yum. Pralines are easy to make in the microwave but you have to watch your time. I zapped them for 3 minutes to start, stirred, then 3 minutes more. After that I took them out every minute and checked the temp with a candy therm until they reached 240 degrees, then added the vanilla and did the stirring (it did take 9 minutes of cook time for me). Three minutes of stirring was just about right. You want to stop stirring just when they start to look cloudy and start firming up a bit. Drop them on parchment as quick as you can, the remaining mixture will continue to harden as it sits, making it harder to scoop. If it seizes up on you or gets too hard, add a spoonful of very hot water and stir until it loosens up. I used an average sized cereal spoon to scoop and got about 2 dozen. Try dipping these in the "Hard Chocolate Glaze" once they are cool, it looks very fancy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
YUM!! And very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
these were awesome! i used real butter, cause i can't stand using margarine for anything. i had to switch to a bigger bowl than i was using at first cause it boiled over, but that was my only issue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Love this recipe! So easy and everyone gobbles them up when I take them places. It takes a little practice to know when to stop stirring and start dropping, but once you get that part figured out, you will find this to be the easiest candy ever and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
These are absolutely what I have been looking for for about 20 years since I lost the recipe that I used for my sister in laws wedding. They turn out perfect every time if you do exactly as the recipe suggest. I made 50 large ones in about 1 hr for my sons wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Super easy, but after adding the vanilla the mix began to dry up almost right away. By the time I got them all onto the paper they were totally dry. But they still tasted really really good, not grainy or chewy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I just got finished trying these out and I couldn't have stirred for 3 minutes because the sugar started getting grainy. Not sure what I did wrong but I will it again. Mayber one minute less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I almost gave up on this recipe because 1) I changed the heavy cream to fat free half and half, 2) I used canola butter spread instead of margarine, and 3) I have a really cheap microwave that apparently has low wattage. My result was a runny basically caramel sauce. I used the time as directed, stirred for three minute intervals (I lost track of how many times I waited 30 seconds). I reheated the mixture to see if some of the liquid would evaporate, and it helped. I thought I had the right consistency (it was not as runny), but it did not set and stuck to the buttered wax paper. However, I was determined to make this work, so I came back to it after a couple hours, scraped off the unset piles of sauce and pecans, and threw it back in the microwave for another 3:30 minutes. It was really bubbly when it came out, and the bubbles did not dissipate until I stirred it. I knew something had changed because as I kept stirring, the mixture became stickier and I was not able to scrap the sides of the mixing bowl as easily. Suddenly, after 4 minutes of stirring, the consistency was semi-hard, but pliable, and that is when I realized that I had a batch of pralines! I believe the key to my dilemma was the wattage on the microwave and basic patience. Keep trying if it does not work, it might be that you need to microwave it for much longer than 9 minutes, and you can always put it back in the microwave until it is right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes! I am now famous for my "homemade pralines"! I have a pretty powerful microwave, so I microwave 4 min., stir, and micorwave one minute more. They are creamy and fabulous. I have to hide them from my husband or he will eat the whole batch in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These were very easy and quick to make. They also taste very good. I like mine to be soft and more creamy and these were a little very sticky and chewy. Be careful if you have fillings in your teeth. They are still quite good though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingMomma23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States