Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Cool! 4 stars due to directions only. You probably need to experiment with amounts and time and bags to see what works best in your microwave and WATCH it as it is popping!! I made it as written, but had to stop my microwave at 2.20 minutes because the Orville Redenbacher corn popped up so big and fluffy it filled my brown paper lunchbag so full it about fell over and some of the popcorn was really jammed in the bottom of the bag. It is kind of dry and tasteless as written but we poured melted butter over it in the bowl and salted to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I prefer to cook my popcorn on the stovetop, but I thought I'd try this to save having an oily pan to wash. It was not a great success. I ended up with an oily microwave turntable to wash instead, and the popcorn did not come out as well as it does on the stove top, possibly because it uses less oil. Anyway, I won't ever make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I was so amazed by this idea that I had to show everyone in my family when they came home that day, lol. I'd never heard of this before and yet it makes sense! I even had to post it on Facebook, which I rarely do. Thanks for the wonderful idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I used the staple in the center of the rolled down top (that someone suggested.) Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I've been wanting to try this and I'm glad I finally made it! Mine came out tasting a little funny, but I'm willing to blame that on the paper bag I used (aka a bag that I don't know what it originally contained and has been in the garage for a while). I did use a little EVOO, but it came out tasting like air popped popcorn anyway. I usually oil pop popcorn on the stove, but this is a nice variation when I don't feel like the extra calories from the oil or when I don't want to dirty another pot. It was a big hit with my 6 year old because its a snack he pretty much do himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This didn't work too well for me - partly burnt, partly unpopped. It's worth a try if you have everything, though - maybe your microwave would work better than mine. Just don't buy a bunch of paper bags you have no other use for like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I used Orville's popcorn and vegetable oil, I stood the bag upright with two small folds, it stayed closed but still let the steam out. Update: I've made this so many times now, I only put a tiny bit of oil in my kernels, less than an 1/2 tsp. and works out fine...less calories, use fine popcorn salt and add it to the bag before popping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
It works well. I still prefer my popcorn made in a pan, it seems to come out better (but with more fat since you need more oil). One thing to take note of, the first time I tried this recipe I didn't have a paper bag. So, I put it in a large microwave safe bowl with a plate over it for a lid. I took it out when it was done and let it sit. After about 30 seconds, the bowl exploded spraying popcorn and glass everywhere which took me a half hour to clean up. Be careful with this if you choose to use a bowl like others have said they've done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is great! Love the method and the fact I can skip the fat and salt. I did not use oil, many have successfully, but I thought it was a bit risky. I folded the bag over twice - no staple needed. The 1/2 cup of popcorn was a bit much and burned a bit. I backed it down to 1/3 cup and zapped it for 2 minutes. Just right for my oven. Gonna make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I love that you posted this recipe, it worked great with & without the oil!!! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniBabii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States