Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I tried this and it worked great. I also used olive oil. I have an atomizer so I was able to lightly and evenly spray the oil on the kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Wow! Like one person already posted, I had heard about making popcorn this way, but have never actually tried it. Followed recipe exactly, did not need to staple bag, stood bag up in the microwave and after two minutes on full power, bag was filled with tender white, perfectly popped kernels and only a very few were unpopped in the bottom of the bag. My teens are addicted to the store bought prepackaged popcorn (with all the additives), and so I did use the oil called for and my son sprinkled salt on his after popping. For me, I will take other reviewers advice and skip the oil and no salt for me. Tasty, healthy, super easy snack. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
We did this at work but left the oil out entirely and it was fine! We found our magic amount to be 1/4 cup in a brown lunch bag. We seasoned a variety of ways: salt, cinnamon/artificial sweetener, tabasco sauce, ICBINB spray. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
tried it with olive oil to start and later with nothing, and it really doesn't taste any different so I skipped the oil altogether. My only issue is that regular brown bags don't seem to be big enough. I only use about 1/3 cup of corn and the bag is super full (I used one staple as suggested) and it ends up falling over. Am going to try putting the beg standing up inside a bowl to see if that helps. Still a wonderful recipe :) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This works great with 1/4 cup of popcorn. I pop it without the oil, and add melted butter and truffle salt (the smallest pinch will do) after it's popped. Addictive!!! Try mixing a small pinch of truffle salt into eggs too, before scrambling them. So delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I believe ACONTORER, so thanks for submitting. My son was so amazed!! We didn't have to take out the air popper and make a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Totally amazing! BUT, 1. Don't use oil. You can pop it without (works perfect) 2. Staple the bag. (Don't worry it won't spark in the microwave) 3. Melt 1 tablespoon butter and spread after (1 tb. butter is 35 cal. where 1 tsp. oil is 70 cal.) 4. Reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp - or to taste. 5. Make lots - everyone will want some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is great! A little trial & error gave us great results! Best of all, no artificial taste or smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Did not work...BLEW UP MY MICROWAVE!!! Save your home from the risk of fire! Pop your popcorn the stove...with a pot...OR...buy actual microwave popcorn! It may be a tad bit expensive...but, trust me, it is a heck of a lot cheaper than buying a new microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Frugal & Fabulous! I am always looking to save money & when I can do so as well as improve on the store version, I am thrilled! This microwave popcorn tip is so simple, thrifty & tasty! To make it even MORE economical I used a clear glass Pyrex type dish with lid. No need to buy bags & no worry about reviews that mentioned blowing up microwaves! Another perk is the kids can watch it pop & you can see when it needs to be stopped, so no over or under cooking. Just be sure to use oven mitts to remove the bowl & you can then add seasoning to taste & eat out of the same bowl. Your own microwave popcorn for pennies plus eating out of the same bowl is nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States