Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
We've been doing this for years with a couple minor changes. First, we've always use olive oil which is not only healthier but adds a wonderful flavor. Second, we fold the top of the bag over just once and put one staple in the middle. This allows steam to get out without the top popping open (pun intended). The staple is so small we've never had any problems with sparking or whatever. I've also experimented with adding in a fresh jalapano pepper or some chopped garlic so it is never blah. One last thing, get some popcorn salt, it is much finer than table salt and works so much better. I can't imagine buying MW popcorn with all the additives plus costing $1 per bag or more! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
860 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I had to make this recipe twice, because the first time it burned after I set the bag on it's side like usual microwave popcorn (recipe did not state how to put bag in). As it turns out, the bag is supposed to be set upright (not on it's side), and it turned out just fine. Try spraying "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" on top to keep it low cal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
707 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
WOW! This is the coolest thing! I've heard for years that this could be done, but for some reason, never tried it. I used 1/3 c. unpopped corn with no oil, and seasoned to taste with salt afterward. There were literally NO unpopped kernels, and none were burnt! The bag was in for about 3 minutes, and the tip about listening for 2 seconds between pops was great! I've always heard 5, and part of my corn usually burns. I am so excited about this! I will never buy store-bought micro-corn again. Really versatile, too; this could be seasoned up with anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
399 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This is so easy, don't doubt it. I made it with oil and without and it works both ways. I always have unpopped kernels but i would rather have them, then burnt popcorn. it is great, easy, healthy and cheap! that's tough to beat. I use the butter flavored spray release and I got great seasonings through kernelseasons.com -they carry lots more then you will find at the grocery store. enjoy! i have used this idea and turned it into a gift basket...i got cute lunch bags, a big bowl, seasonings and butter release spray and a bag or jar of popcorn. i typed up the instructions and gave them all as gifts last year....now my whole office knows how to make it.... this is really a great recipe. thanks again Acontorer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Made this for the first time yesterday using olive oil but next time (and there will be many times) I will try without oil as some reviews state they have had success with that. I would rather add 1 tsp EVOO after it cooks for more flavor, if necessary. I will skip the salt in the bag as I had to add more afterward anyway. Lots of fiber, very filling, low fat (esp without the oil), made a ton, inexpensive, no chemicals or cardboard taste (like packaged micro popcorn), and no packaging in the landfill. No downside to this recipe! Total bag = 6 WW points made according to recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I've been making popcorn this way for years. Be sure to sit the bag up, not down on its side. And if your microwave does not have a turntable, turn your bag every 30 seconds or so. If a lot of kernels have popped, I put them in my serving bowl and then continue microwaving the rest. Oh, and I use I Can't Believe It's Not Butter spray and Butter Buds for a low cal snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was a really nice treat! I didn't use the oil to save on fat and calories. My children enjoy spraying with the I can't believe it's not butter spray and then sprinkling parmesan cheese or dry ranch dressing on top. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
OMG - How cool is this recipe! I love when I come across a really simple recipe with so few ingredients that turns out soooo good! I've tried it with and without the oil (olive oil works great too), just watch your microwave times as everyone's microwaves are different. The possibilites are endless in terms of seasonings you can but on top - I kept it simple and light and just used butter spray! This is a great snack and now my whole house smells like popcorn! Definitely won't be going back to the pre-packaged stuff, sorry Mr. Redenbacher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This worked perfectly for me. Very simple and I like knowing what I am eating. Added melted unsalted butter and it was a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This is my new favorite snack. I found that it took 2 minutes to cook mine, all microwaves are different. At 2 minutes there are quite a few kernels left unpoped but any longer and the corn burns. You just have to adjust to your microwave. It beats the boughten kind hands down!!! We add garlic salt or lawreys seasoned salt to ours. A great use for those 200+ lunch sacks that I had to buy for 1 or 2 being used. Great recipe! I always love to find the homemade way to do something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States