Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I've been wanting to try this and I'm glad I finally made it! Mine came out tasting a little funny, but I'm willing to blame that on the paper bag I used (aka a bag that I don't know what it originally contained and has been in the garage for a while). I did use a little EVOO, but it came out tasting like air popped popcorn anyway. I usually oil pop popcorn on the stove, but this is a nice variation when I don't feel like the extra calories from the oil or when I don't want to dirty another pot. It was a big hit with my 6 year old because its a snack he pretty much do himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This didn't work too well for me - partly burnt, partly unpopped. It's worth a try if you have everything, though - maybe your microwave would work better than mine. Just don't buy a bunch of paper bags you have no other use for like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I used Orville's popcorn and vegetable oil, I stood the bag upright with two small folds, it stayed closed but still let the steam out. Update: I've made this so many times now, I only put a tiny bit of oil in my kernels, less than an 1/2 tsp. and works out fine...less calories, use fine popcorn salt and add it to the bag before popping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
It works well. I still prefer my popcorn made in a pan, it seems to come out better (but with more fat since you need more oil). One thing to take note of, the first time I tried this recipe I didn't have a paper bag. So, I put it in a large microwave safe bowl with a plate over it for a lid. I took it out when it was done and let it sit. After about 30 seconds, the bowl exploded spraying popcorn and glass everywhere which took me a half hour to clean up. Be careful with this if you choose to use a bowl like others have said they've done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is great! Love the method and the fact I can skip the fat and salt. I did not use oil, many have successfully, but I thought it was a bit risky. I folded the bag over twice - no staple needed. The 1/2 cup of popcorn was a bit much and burned a bit. I backed it down to 1/3 cup and zapped it for 2 minutes. Just right for my oven. Gonna make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I love that you posted this recipe, it worked great with & without the oil!!! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniBabii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I use a quarter cup popcorn, no oil, no salt for a 1:45 minutes. I guess it depends on the popcorn & how big your bag is, but that's all that will fit once popped. I just lay it flat, kind of like the storebought microwave kind, with the folded side down. Let it sit till you don't hear any more popping. Pour in a bowl, shot of butterflavored spray & a little salt. Toss & repeat. 'Seems oil & salt in the microwave aren't good ideas. Oil & paper? I'm thinking fire. Salt zapping the food you hear about all the time - to wait to add it till it's done. :? :) ... Anyway, that's how this girl does it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
It works! This is great - you can make salt free popcorn if you have to watch your sodium intake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I hate the microwave popcorn that comes from the grocery store and usually make my popcorn stove top;but, that takes a bit more time, so I gave this a try. It is great! Be sure to mix the ingredients in a bowl first. I was lazy and tried mixing it right in the bag and while it did work, it clumped in the bottom. The second batch was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I love this method of making popcorn because I can control the fat and salt! It's less expensive than buying pre-packaged microwave popcorn. I usually fold the bag once and add 1 staple. It never sparks in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States