Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I did this several times after seeing it on Dr. Oz. then one evening the bag caught fire! Haven't done it this way since. Looking for a glass (not melamine) bowl to pop corn in. Or will a microwave safe glass bowl work?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This recipe is great and very easy to make. I think I will add more salt to the kernels in the future as 1/2 tsp. didn't give the popcorn much saltiness. It worked out fine for us to just fold the bag over 3 times, however, 1/2 c. of popcorn kernels in a paper lunch bag was a bit too much. I ended up pouring some of the fully popped popcorn out and letting the un-popped kernels go for another minute or so. I think maybe 1/-4 to 1/3 c. would be better suited for a smaller bag like I used. This recipe is a definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Cool! 4 stars due to directions only. You probably need to experiment with amounts and time and bags to see what works best in your microwave and WATCH it as it is popping!! I made it as written, but had to stop my microwave at 2.20 minutes because the Orville Redenbacher corn popped up so big and fluffy it filled my brown paper lunchbag so full it about fell over and some of the popcorn was really jammed in the bottom of the bag. It is kind of dry and tasteless as written but we poured melted butter over it in the bowl and salted to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I prefer to cook my popcorn on the stovetop, but I thought I'd try this to save having an oily pan to wash. It was not a great success. I ended up with an oily microwave turntable to wash instead, and the popcorn did not come out as well as it does on the stove top, possibly because it uses less oil. Anyway, I won't ever make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I was so amazed by this idea that I had to show everyone in my family when they came home that day, lol. I'd never heard of this before and yet it makes sense! I even had to post it on Facebook, which I rarely do. Thanks for the wonderful idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I used the staple in the center of the rolled down top (that someone suggested.) Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I've been wanting to try this and I'm glad I finally made it! Mine came out tasting a little funny, but I'm willing to blame that on the paper bag I used (aka a bag that I don't know what it originally contained and has been in the garage for a while). I did use a little EVOO, but it came out tasting like air popped popcorn anyway. I usually oil pop popcorn on the stove, but this is a nice variation when I don't feel like the extra calories from the oil or when I don't want to dirty another pot. It was a big hit with my 6 year old because its a snack he pretty much do himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This didn't work too well for me - partly burnt, partly unpopped. It's worth a try if you have everything, though - maybe your microwave would work better than mine. Just don't buy a bunch of paper bags you have no other use for like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I used Orville's popcorn and vegetable oil, I stood the bag upright with two small folds, it stayed closed but still let the steam out. Update: I've made this so many times now, I only put a tiny bit of oil in my kernels, less than an 1/2 tsp. and works out fine...less calories, use fine popcorn salt and add it to the bag before popping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
It works well. I still prefer my popcorn made in a pan, it seems to come out better (but with more fat since you need more oil). One thing to take note of, the first time I tried this recipe I didn't have a paper bag. So, I put it in a large microwave safe bowl with a plate over it for a lid. I took it out when it was done and let it sit. After about 30 seconds, the bowl exploded spraying popcorn and glass everywhere which took me a half hour to clean up. Be careful with this if you choose to use a bowl like others have said they've done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States