Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I've been buying microwave popcorn for years (although I know it's got so many things that are unhealthy and that has always bothered me). My kids love popcorn but I don't like how it turns out when done in a pot because it doesn't stay dry enough. This worked great! I have a "popcorn" button on my microwave and always have to add another 30 seconds to the cook time to get all the the kernels to pop but it turns out perfect every time! Thank you for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSavaso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Be VERY CAREFUL and READ THE OWNERS MANUAL for your microwave oven before making popcorn this way. I didn't and am now shopping for a new oven, having arced my way to a fire (fortunately contained within the oven) that destroyed my microwave oven. My manual explicitly said "no brown bags" and the ones I've read for new ovens say "specialized popcorn cookers and commercially made microwave popcorn bags only." My effort to simplify storage and save money went up in smoke! FYI, the new ones don't endorse drying herbs either, which I did many times in the Litten that was 20 years old when we sold the house in 1998. Of course, it wasn't made in China...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Wow is all I can say, no left over kernels either. Will def use this from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
the perfect popcorn recipe! This popcorn turned out so good! And so easy. I have tried popping corn the old fashioned way in a pot with oil and it was always chewy, and kind of stale. Wow was I impressed with how light and fluffy this microwave popcorn turned out. And to think I was afraid I was going to start a fire in my micro-wave! Too easy, too delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is great! I grew up with the pre-made bags, but I'll never buy them again! I don't coat the kernels in oil and I find that 1/4 cup fits in my paper bags just right. I'm glad I read the reviews, or else I wouldn't have known to stand the bag upright. Depending on my mood I'll top with a small amount of salted butter, or, for something sweeter, some salted butter and sugar. Parmesan cheese is delicious, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Do this all the time w/ organic popcorn,evoo, and sea salt, it is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. I have a small microwave and "giant" lunch bags so I had to lay the bag on its side and I didn't have any problems. As one poster suggested to use the bowl and plate method, I tried that way just before I tried this recipe and it failed miserably so this is my new go to method for popcorn from now on. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indyjazzd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thorntown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Love this! Never going to buy MW popcorn again! I didn't use oil--just threw in about 1/4 cup for about 2-1/2 minutes. The salt came out the bottom, so I'll just add it later next time. Can't wait to try some different seasonings or butter spray. So much healthier, and so much cheaper, too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This didn't work very well with my microwave. I have the smell of burt popcorn now! When I did it the first time for 3 mins only 10% if the popcorn was popped so I took that out (ate it) and the put the seeds back in, for 5 mins . . and 50% burn to a crisp! I have the jumbo popping corn, maybe thats why its not working. I think I might try to freeze it and see if that make it pops better, as someone had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I only use 1/4 cup popcorn in a lunch bag. No oil. It's great without it, especially since I used to have an air popper. This tastes just as good, doesn't take up room for the popper, and easier to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States