Microwave Pecan Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Definitely do not cook the last two minutes, mine burned as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sina Ann Millikin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Ingredients are spot on. Changed the cooking time to reflect larger microwave. I have a 1200 watt 1.2 cu ft Panasonic inverter microwave. Cooked the sugar and syrup 3 minutes on high. Added pecans and cooked another 3 minutes on high. Added butter, vanilla extract, and baking soda and stirred vigorously until well combined. Did not cook any more, poured into prepared baking sheet and let cool. Turned out perfect. Edit: Made again and cut the cooking time after adding the pecans to 2:30 instead of 3:00 minutes. It was good before but had a bit of "toasty" taste. It set up fine and tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springhill, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
it came out bubbly and chewy. Im so mad it didn't come out like the picture this is my second try btw. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and burned the first batch. Will try again using less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I just made this recipe, and the first batch literally set my smoke alarm off--a burned up mess! [My microwave is a Samsung 1.65kW, which I assume is 1650 watts.] I tried it a second time, and cooked the first time for 3 minutes, the 2nd time [after stirring] for 2 minutes, and the 3 time [after butter] 1 minute, and it turned out great. I LOVE not having to cook brittle on the stove for hours at a time--thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
So easy! I didn't have a big enough measuring cup so I just used a glass , microwaveable dish. I didn't cook mine the entire 3.5 minutes on the second round because the pecans were trying to scorch. I did the rest exactly as it said and it turned out perfectly! Doesn't make a huge amount so you may want to double the recipe if you want a lot. Sooooo good! This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Just wanted everyone to know that I'm the one who posted this recipe. I make this all the time and have made it on several different microwaves that have varied in wattage. I'm sorry that yours have burned and maybe just readjust the last two minutes for 1 minute. I've truly never had a problem with the times. Again I'm sorry. Also, I make mine is glass measuring cups. I have a variety of sizes and use the 4 cup measuring cup to cook it in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texaskari22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evadale, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This recipe has all the right ingredients and was easy to make but if you follow the directions as given your brittle will burn. Perhaps this was meant to be used with a low wattage microwave, My microwave is 1200 watts .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Groveland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
My microwave must run hotter than the recipe submitter's microwave, because my brittle had a slightly burnt taste. They were still tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
BEWARE. This is addictive. Wonderful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States