Microwave Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
THIS RECEIPE IS FANTASTIC. I ADDED 1/4 TSP OF CREAM OF TARTAR WITH THE SODA, AND CANDY IS NOT SO STICKY. VERY EASY TO MAKE. TASTE DIFFERENT WHEN YOU USE PECANS INSTEAD OF THE PEANUTS. THANKS SO VERY MUCH. REMEMBER TO LET YOU MICROWAVE COOL BEFORE YOU MAKE ANOTHER BATCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
THIS IS SO SIMPLE AND MMMMM GOOD. i WOULD CHECK THE WATTS ON YOUR MICROWAVE AND ADJUST TIME FOR HIGHER WATTS. TRY IT WITH PECANS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I added 1 cup extra peanuts. the recipe didn't call for enough for the amount of other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
YES, FOR MOST HIGH POWERED MICROWAVES THE COOKING TIMES ARE FAR TOO EXTREME WHICH RESULTS IN BURNING...THE FOLLOWING IS A MORE ACCURATE ADJUSTMENT, BUT REMEMBER, ALL MICROWAVES ARE DIFFERENT AND IF YOU CHOOSE TO MAKE A SECOND BATCH IMMEDIATELY, YOU MAY HAVE TO ADJUST THE TIME AS THE MICROWAVE HAS ALREADY BEEN 'PRIMED' Butter a cookie sheet. Combine sugar and corn syrup in a 2 quart glass bowl and microwave on high 4 minutes. Stir in peanuts and microwave on high 3 1/2 minutes more, then stir in butter and vanilla and microwave for 1 1/2 minutes. Stir in baking soda until light and foamy. Pour onto cookie sheet and spread thin. Cool completely and break into pieces and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
like others, i should have read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I wish I had read the reviews first. 12 minutes was far too long in my microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This is the best peanut brittle. I love the way it has a very light airy texture. This will be on my Christmas goodie trays for the neighbors. I used a 1000 watt microwave and put it in for 9 min then 2min 45 seconds and it was perfect. I do recommend stirring the corn syrup and sugar before microwaving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
I made this recipe in a Panasonic Inverter 1000 Watt microwave oven. I checked the candy at 6,9, and 11 minutes to make sure it was not burning, then cooked one minute longer, added the butter and vanilla, and cooked 2 minutes longer, added the baking soda and poured it out to cool. It turned out perfectly! What I did differently, and I learned this last year making another microwave candy recipe, is this: I use a fairly heavy, large pottery mixing bowl to make candy in. Something like Pyrex will not work as well and often causes the candy to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This recipe is the BEST! My microwave is very old, the wattage is lower, I am sure. The time was perfect. Perhaps the burned recipes are due to the higher wattages? Don't know, but I did this and it came out perfect, every time. Made it at my sis' house, it would have burned if we hadn't been watching it. Her microwave was 1000 watts. ??????? Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I was sorry I didn't read the reviews before I tried this recipe. I have made peanut brittle before many times but had lost my recipe for it so I tried this particular site. The microwave time is too long & 2/3 cup peanuts is way too small amount of nuts for this recipe. Looking at the 12 min. time I automaticallly adjusted as I thought it sounded too long but even at 9 min. it burned badly. I won't be trying this recipe again there are too many good ones out there that you don't need to adjust to make it right!! This one is a real loser!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States