Microwave Oven Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is a great alternative to the precision needed for stove top peanut brittle. Just make sure you watch your mixture closely as it cooks since microwaves are all a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is wonderful. I am actually kind of annoyed by how good it is. I am sort of an "old school" snob when it comes to cooking and went quite a long time without a microwave at all. I make traditional, stove-top brittle. I didn't even know this could be done in a microwave until recently. I saw this recipe and figured I would give it a try. It really came out nice! The color is beautiful and it is super airy. It's just really a nice candy. I omitted the salt and used salted butter. Reduced the peanuts by 1/2 cup. My microwave is 700 watts. I cooked peanuts, sugar, and corn syrup 6 minutes; added vanilla extract and butter and cooked 3 minutes; stirred in baking soda and poured onto a lightly greased baking sheet. Just perfect!! Thanks for the recipe!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My aunt brought this to a party and everyone raved about it!!! Delicious and addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
So super easy! Works like a dream, without the fuss of the candy thermometer. (I'm a novice in that department, so I usually klutz it up) Made two batches last night with freshly roasted Virginia peanuts and ORGANIC corn syrup. Yes Virginia, it exists! Skip the Karo HFCS! Tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Westie's Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very easy and delicious peanut brittle. I use 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar because that's what we prefer for taste. Make sure you adjust your time for a powerful microwave or it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is AMAZING!! My husband loves peanut brittle and has been wanting me to make some for years, but I had always heard it was very difficult. He loves this and says it tastes just like his mom makes (and she makes hers on the stove!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Very good! My hubby loved it! But i prefer them to be a little sweeter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Awesome. If I could give it more stars, I would. I read and followed most of the suggestions and the results were simply perfection. 1. Use the 4 Cup Pyrex Glass Measuring cup -- the 8 cup was too heavy -- hard on my wrists. Heavily coat the glass measuring cup inside/spout and outer rim with Pam before starting. 2. Boil 2 pots of water on your stove before starting -- use this water to clean the Pyrex Glass Measuring Cup -- this really does work - it melts the sugar. Clean up was not a problem. 3. Use wooden utensils for mixing/blending/spreading. I used both wooden and metal utensils. The wooden ones came clean faster than the metal. 3. Really mix the sugar and light corn syrup well before nuking in microwave. This makes a huge difference. 4. Cover your cookie sheet with aluminum foil/put in oven at 200 degrees. Take it out when you start your second part of the recipe (the butter/vanilla) and coat the foil with butter. 4. If using roasted peanuts, put peanuts in on the 2nd part of recipe with the butter/vanilla. 5. Use the baking soda -- no one will break a tooth! 6. For my 900 Watt microwave the time = 7 minutes on the first part, 3 minutes on the last part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ct

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a foolproof and perfect recipe for peanut brittle. The first batch was intended for the Christmas treat tray but it didn't make it because we ate it all. Had to buy more peanuts and start over. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Yum! So much easier than making this on the stove and just as good. Clean up is always difficult :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States