Microwave Oven Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I stopped the cooking about 3 times and stirred it each time when I made it. And just watched for some browning. Its not very dark when its ready to pour so I wouldn't keep cooking till you get a nice brown. I took mine out when it was very very lightly browned, then stirred in the vanilla and butter. It was perfect. And I forgot the baking soda! But it was still very good and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My fiance loves peanut brittle and having never made it before, I wanted to find the most fool-proof way to do it. Well....I used another microwave brittle recipe that I found on a cooking blog which turned out not so good - not because it was a bad recipe, the cooking times were off for MY microwave. Then I found this one, read a lot of the reviews and gave it a try. I ended up using some tips from other reviewers, as I am not sure of my microwave's wattage (it was made in 2002) so I put the sugar and corn syrup in first for 6 1/2 minutes, took it out and stirred in the nuts, butter, and vanilla and put it back in for another 3 minutes. I then took it out and quickly added the baking soda, stirred, and poured it out onto a warmed cookie sheet covered in parchment paper (another reviewer tip). At 15 minutes the brittle broke up really well, had a beautiful amber color, and tasted delicious. I even took my previous brittle that was grainy and not cooked enough and melted it down again for 4 minutes in the microwave and recooked it. It now is amber colored as well, and I am waiting to see if it will set up and I can actually save it! Thanks for this easy recipe for candy beginners like me. It looks wonderful and tastes fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Robison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This is unbelievably easy! At least - once I sorted out the time on my microwave. I have a 1200 watt microwave and my first batch I tried one posters idea of time reduction (5 minutes and then 1.5) and it was burnt badly. The next batch I followed another posters idea and set my microwave at 70%, for 5 minutes, then 2 minutes. Other then that I followed the recipe. It's wonderfully brittle and tastes like the real deal! I will be making this OFTEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Very good and super quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is the easiest recipe I've made. Microwave for 6 minutes, add butter, microwave for 2 more minutes. Add Baking Soda, stir in, pour onto a cookie sheet covered in parchment. Spread quickly - thinner than you think you want. Leave it for 15 minutes - I lifted out the parchment paper and placed it on a cold pack. Broke it into pieces and, viola, easy peasy Peanut Brittle. I only used a cup of salted roasted peanuts, and a 1/2 - 1/3 tsp of Baking Soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is the first time I've made peanut brittle and it was wonderful. I didn't have any of the troubles, like a burnt taste, that other posters mentioned. I followed the recipe exactly and am thrilled with the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Millville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
How do I avoid the 'chewy-ness' of it? I preferred it to 'crackle'. It sticks to my teeth. Did it not cook long enough? I have a very powerful microwave and cooked according to directions. Suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
What can I say!! This is incredible!! Sooo easy!! Broke apart easily from a greased cookie sheet. Hesitated before making it because it seemed too easy. This is a real keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Very easy and popular. Friends and family demand it every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I burned the first batch. I have a 950 watt micro, so I changed the cooking times to: 4 minutes for the syrup & sugar. Added the peanuts, cooked for about 1 minute 20 seconds. Added butter & vanilla, cooked for 1 1/2 minutes, then added the soda. I also stirred it about 3 times during the first 4 minutes. Turned out perfect! will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 880) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States