Microwave Oven Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I made peanut brittle for the first time today in chemistry class and my shoulder hurts from constantly stirring and using a bunsen burner was very hot and unpleasant. Lol. This recipe has the same exact ingredients as the one I made today and well I haven't made this one yet but the steps are basically the same just using different appliences. I gave this recipe a five because this is utterly GENIUS!!! So fast and simple compared to the amount of time it took to make it the usual way (I was late for my next class) Thank you sooo much Linda C. !!! Some tips from me: This tastes great with macadamia nuts or almonds. Very delicious. Since I am allergic to peanuts I omitted them and it still tasted delicious and buttery OMG SOOO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I couldn't believe how easy this recipe was. Excellent texture and taste. I make chocolates a couple of times a year and sell them to some of my clubs, getting rave reviews. I'm always looking for new candy recipes. You can bet this peanut brittle will be one of my new specialties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I think this is a lovely, easy recipe. My sugar didn't melt all the way, but I don't think it matters. What does matter: I can't stop eating it. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
this recipe makes a delicious brittle and it was fairly easy. the hardest part was stirring the corn syrup and the sugar together in the beginning :) I used my glass Pampered Chef 4-cup batter bowl and it was perfect. Here is the timing that worked in my 950watt microwave: heat just the combined corn syrup and sugar alone for 5 minutes, then add the butter, vanilla and peanuts (I used lightly salted, dry roasted) and then heat for another 3 minutes. Stir in the baking soda and immediately pour onto a warmed (I kept mine in a heated oven while I microwaved), parchment-lined (buttered foil works, too) cookie sheet. Spreading the mixture can be a little tricky, but not very much spreading should be necessary if the cooking time is right. I put the cookie sheet on a cooling rack and then transferred the parchment with the brittle on it, directly to the rack after a few minutes to cool further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is a great alternative to the precision needed for stove top peanut brittle. Just make sure you watch your mixture closely as it cooks since microwaves are all a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is wonderful. I am actually kind of annoyed by how good it is. I am sort of an "old school" snob when it comes to cooking and went quite a long time without a microwave at all. I make traditional, stove-top brittle. I didn't even know this could be done in a microwave until recently. I saw this recipe and figured I would give it a try. It really came out nice! The color is beautiful and it is super airy. It's just really a nice candy. I omitted the salt and used salted butter. Reduced the peanuts by 1/2 cup. My microwave is 700 watts. I cooked peanuts, sugar, and corn syrup 6 minutes; added vanilla extract and butter and cooked 3 minutes; stirred in baking soda and poured onto a lightly greased baking sheet. Just perfect!! Thanks for the recipe!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My aunt brought this to a party and everyone raved about it!!! Delicious and addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
So super easy! Works like a dream, without the fuss of the candy thermometer. (I'm a novice in that department, so I usually klutz it up) Made two batches last night with freshly roasted Virginia peanuts and ORGANIC corn syrup. Yes Virginia, it exists! Skip the Karo HFCS! Tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Westie's Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very easy and delicious peanut brittle. I use 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar because that's what we prefer for taste. Make sure you adjust your time for a powerful microwave or it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is AMAZING!! My husband loves peanut brittle and has been wanting me to make some for years, but I had always heard it was very difficult. He loves this and says it tastes just like his mom makes (and she makes hers on the stove!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 876) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States