Microwave Oven Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is a first rate recipe. It brought back memories of growing up in England. Us children and Mum would have approved of the speedy method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
TASTE GREAT BUT A LITTLE TOO HARD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was so fast, easy and delicious...I'll definitely make this again. Made it in a 4-cup glass measuring cup. Omitted salt since I used 1-3/4 cups of salted cashews. For my 900 watt oven, I cooked 7 minutes on the first round, 3 on the second. Came out perfect. Thanks for a great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
excellent. Cooking times are dependent upon your microwave oven wattage. Peruse other peoples' reviews for ideas on cooking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Fabulous peanut brittle - the best ever! (though this is the first time I've ever made any myself). Since our microwave has 1200 watts, I cooked it first at 70% for 6 minutes (adding the peanuts after 2 minutes), then added the butter and vanilla and cooked another 2 1/2 minutes before taking it out and adding the baking soda. Turned out just perfect and delectible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stvnflt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I have been making this for years and years...you do have to watch it to prevent burning because all microwaves are different. I have used many different types of nuts in this recipe; mixed, macadamias, cashews, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I have been making a similar recipe for years. I make a ten minute (or so) brittle putting the nuts in at the five minute point, then add the butter, vanilla, and soda at the end. I followed this recipe putting the butter and vanilla in at the earlier interval and was not so happy with the results. I think I will stick with my recipe. I also put in more baking soda which all of my elderly relatives prefer as they say it makes the candy easier on their teeth! I out in 1 1/2 t of baking soda and it makes the candy really airy...also I live at 5500 feet which may also have something to do with it... ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Just made it, thinking I followed recipe to the tee but I added the soda along with the butter and vanilla, and it came out FAB! Husband loved it as it wasn't tooth-breakingly hard! No hard clean-up! It's only sugar, so hot water makes for easy clean-up! Thx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I buy either the 4 pound can of peanuts or the 2 pound can of cashews over at Menards (yes, they sell more then hardware and lumber) mainly for this recipe. Either of them work well and as a bonus, they are inexpensive. This is truly a very good recipe that I have used for at least a couple of years. I'm going right out to buy a clear glass 4-cup measuring cup with a handle especially for making this brittle as some others have suggested. I believe that it will make an easy recipe even easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Would give it 10 stars if I could. The only recipe I make! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States