Microwave Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
So easy and so excellent! I also enjoysed the mochi with toasted sesame seeds. Next time I will try read bean paste. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I tried a lot of mochi recipes and this one is the best! Never thought microwaved mochi would come out so soft. I filled mine with red bean paste. I'm a beginner at any kind of cooking and I found this recipe really easy. I didn't need as much potato starch, so next time I will only use 1/4 cup. I was able to get 20 pieces out of this recipe. Filling the pieces with the red bean paste was a little tricky and took the most time for me. I kept coating my fingers with the potato starch to keep it from sticking too much to my hand. I think making these without a filling would taste great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This worked really well. I didn't have potato starch so I mixed 1 cup shredded coconut w/ 1/8 cup sugar and a pinch of salt. I also added green food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This was alwsome! i didn't even know you could make this with the microwave. ^^ To make it even better, i added less sugar and coated it with coconut flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This is really good, as good as the store bought chinese mochi. I don't eat a lot of sweet, so I reduced so sugar, still too sweet for me. I added some mugwort herb and red beans paste as the filling. My colleague loved it, and ask for the recipe. Next time I am going to add some green tea powder and roll them in sesamae seed instead of starch and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Cook in increments of two mintues and turn it each time or you will get hard mochi on the edges. Hard mochi=not tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Demimi
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
When I first started making it, it was a pasty liquid so I thought I might have done something wrong, but alas! it's supposed to be like that! it will harden as it cooks, so I just thought I would add that if anyone else had the same doubts I did. I only used 1/4 cup splenda(1/4 cup=1/2cup sugar) and it tasted... not bland, but not sweet. However, when i rolled it in coconut it tasted absolutely delicious. I omitted the potato starch, just because I dont like the dry taste it gives it. I tried to make mochi ice cream out of this, but my mochi pieces were too thick, so to those who also want to try this or fill it with anything (including adzuki bean) i would recommend making two batches but with the same amount of ingredients, that way it's thinner and easier to roll and fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I've tried several mochi recipes (steaming, cooking in balls in boiling water) to make for a Girl Scout event. Of the three recipes I've tried, I found this one is the best. I lived in Japan for a year and found that this recipe has a great, soft texture. I added two drops of red food coloring (which looks like traditional Japanese mochi). You could also add two drops of green food coloring as well. Traditional Japanese mochi is usually pink, green and white. I LOVED the powder that is used in this mochi recipe. I do not like using plain cornstarch (has a chalky feel), so the addition of sugar and salt made it perfect! I can say that if it is cooked too long you will get hard corners (I'd use the shortest cooking time). I used an 8 x 8 glass baking dish. If you don't have a plastic knife, just dip your knife in the powder before each cut. I found that this worked well. Also, mochi is kept at room temperature. So, do not put in the refrigerator, or else you will get hard mochi. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Perfect results, so easy that it could be dangerous to calorie counters. Got together with a fellow ex-pat with same craving. She had made azuki bean paste from scratch. We made two batches, sat down chatted and had some with tea, all in less than 2 hrs. We excluded the vinegar, microwaved for 8 minutes and found our manju to be just perfect like we remembered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
So easy to make and absolutely yummy. I microwaved it on high for 7 minutes, however it came out a little bit too tough for my liking. I will try the 6 minutes as suggested by another reviewer next time. I bought red bean paste in a can and stuffed it in the mochi. Instead of using potato starch, I bought shredded sweetened coconut and crushed some peanuts, and coated the mochi in either or. As suggested by another reviewer, make sure your hands are wet, it helps with the stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States