Microwave Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
So easy! I added coconut extract and hydrated purple yam powder! Corn starch worked just as well and I left out the vinegar. My kids love this treat. Especially my one year old. I had to let it cool before rolling into a ball. So sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My 14-year-old daughter needed a challenge for her 4H Microwave project. This fit the bill. She studied a bit of Japanese culture, too - always beneficial. Personally, I LOVE to eat these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Grandin, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
this was tasty and the texture was just like in the stores but, beware your cooking times. the first batch i made ended up with a hard top layer because i micro-waved it for too long. to add some flavor i added a couple of drops of coconut extract and that was yummy. next time i think i'll roll them in shredded coconut or add red bean ;) ******** i tried this a second time and got perfect results. what did i do better? i cut the microwave time down to 6 minutes, i substituted a couple of drops vegetable oil for the vinegar and i rolled the finished mochi in powdered sugar instead of starch. perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I found using boiling water over the rice flour and sugar gave me better results the second time I made this. (I added an extra 2 teaspoons water ) This way the flour and sugar are completely dissolved. Don't bother with the vinegar as others had suggested. Microwave for only 6 minutes so it doesn't get dried out. Let the mochi cool. While it is cooling, prepared the 1 cup coconut and 1/8 cup( or less )cup sugar, and pinch of salt. Mixed this well. I think less sugar is better because I found it too sweet. I flattened the mochi like a pancake after it had cooled somewhat and then placed crunchy peanut butter in the center and sealed it by folding in half. Then rolled into a ball. Try not to put too much peanut butter otherwise it will come out. *** I forgot to mentioned that I didn't bother with the starch because when I made it the first time it tasted too dry that way******
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This is really good, as good as the store bought chinese mochi. I don't eat a lot of sweet, so I reduced so sugar, still too sweet for me. I added some mugwort herb and red beans paste as the filling. My colleague loved it, and ask for the recipe. Next time I am going to add some green tea powder and roll them in sesamae seed instead of starch and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Perfect results, so easy that it could be dangerous to calorie counters. Got together with a fellow ex-pat with same craving. She had made azuki bean paste from scratch. We made two batches, sat down chatted and had some with tea, all in less than 2 hrs. We excluded the vinegar, microwaved for 8 minutes and found our manju to be just perfect like we remembered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I've tried several mochi recipes (steaming, cooking in balls in boiling water) to make for a Girl Scout event. Of the three recipes I've tried, I found this one is the best. I lived in Japan for a year and found that this recipe has a great, soft texture. I added two drops of red food coloring (which looks like traditional Japanese mochi). You could also add two drops of green food coloring as well. Traditional Japanese mochi is usually pink, green and white. I LOVED the powder that is used in this mochi recipe. I do not like using plain cornstarch (has a chalky feel), so the addition of sugar and salt made it perfect! I can say that if it is cooked too long you will get hard corners (I'd use the shortest cooking time). I used an 8 x 8 glass baking dish. If you don't have a plastic knife, just dip your knife in the powder before each cut. I found that this worked well. Also, mochi is kept at room temperature. So, do not put in the refrigerator, or else you will get hard mochi. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
haha ... its easy to make ... i think my fren will like it ... thx though cause my house dont have oven but only have microwave and a toster ... (>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Great idea! I added some grated orange peel (1/4 tsp) to the mix before placing in our nuker. I also added 1/8 tsp of powdered Ginger to starch mixture. One suggestion is to halve the recipe for the starch as a lot was thrown away. The kids had fun making this and watching the nuker "bake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Canuck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Demimi
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
When I first started making it, it was a pasty liquid so I thought I might have done something wrong, but alas! it's supposed to be like that! it will harden as it cooks, so I just thought I would add that if anyone else had the same doubts I did. I only used 1/4 cup splenda(1/4 cup=1/2cup sugar) and it tasted... not bland, but not sweet. However, when i rolled it in coconut it tasted absolutely delicious. I omitted the potato starch, just because I dont like the dry taste it gives it. I tried to make mochi ice cream out of this, but my mochi pieces were too thick, so to those who also want to try this or fill it with anything (including adzuki bean) i would recommend making two batches but with the same amount of ingredients, that way it's thinner and easier to roll and fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States