Microwave Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great versatile recipe, thanks for posting. It is VERY GOOD with one change: try subbing 1 c. of coconut milk for 1 c. of the water. I ate that whole batch in one day BY MYSELF. Another good version: try adding 3T sifted cocoa for chocolate mochi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Great recipe! But I didn't really like how the starch mixture made the mochi kind of salty. I think I'll leave out the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gluk0se

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great recipe. You can also use a pizza cutter to slice up the mochi. I simply dusted a cutting board with potato starch, "peeled" the mochi onto the board from an 8x8 pyrex, dusted it with more starch, and then used a pizza cutter to cut it up. After cutting it, I dusted it again to get into the cracks, separate the pieces and dust it in the extra starch and then it can be stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Gruwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I agree with a previous comment. Reduce the time tot 6 min in the microwave and replace vinegar for a few drops of vegetable oil. I rolled it in corn starch (it's what I had on hand) and it came out GREAT! You could also roll it in more mochiko, but it tends to have a grainier texture than the potato or corn starch. I found that using the powdered sugar to roll in (like other comments have suggested), made a mess. The mochi was a little warm when I formed them into balls and it melted the powdered sugar. tip: when using powdered sugar, make sure the mochi is cooled off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Very manageable for my first attempt. I used green tea instead of water to make green tea mochi ice cream. Also, for my surface, I used potato starch and CONFECTIONERS' sugar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was a huge hit at a family dinner- I doubled the recipe to use an entire box of mochiko, and used dabs of sweetened red bean paste to fill half of them. They didn't hold their shape very well, but that was probably because I doubled the recipe and only cooked the dough for 8 or 9 minutes. Delicious and slightly chewy, I coated these in tapioca starch and sugar, and dusted more starch on the serving tray later in the day when I served these for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
very good and really easy to make. my microwave is 1100 watts, and 6 minutes was all it took. I used hot water to mix up the sugar and the mochiko so that all the sugar would be incorporated somewhat evenly into the glutinous flour mixture. To make it easier to roll up, I worked on top of wax paper so that it wouldn't stick. I did not have potato starch so I toasted and ground up peanuts really finely, then rolled up the outer portion with that. I put peanut butter inside. I have one kid with nut allergy, so I did some flaked coconut outer and jam filled inner for him. Next time I will substitute some of the water for green tea, this will make the mochi green tea flavored. I may also make some purple yam mochi next time. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Turned out fantastic! Chewy, sweet and delicious. I wrapped mine around vanilla frozen yogurt, which was a huge mess but tasted delicious. Just like the store bought Trader Joes Mochi ice cream. Next, I am going to try it with green tea ice cream, and maybe add a drop of food coloring. Only changes I made was I also used agave nectar instead of sugar, and I just rolled in plain cornstarch instead of the mixture. I followed the advice of another reviewer and microwaved for 2 min at a time, stirring between, and I am glad I did. Prevented a hard top and allowed me to get it just the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Cook in increments of two mintues and turn it each time or you will get hard mochi on the edges. Hard mochi=not tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I tried a lot of mochi recipes and this one is the best! Never thought microwaved mochi would come out so soft. I filled mine with red bean paste. I'm a beginner at any kind of cooking and I found this recipe really easy. I didn't need as much potato starch, so next time I will only use 1/4 cup. I was able to get 20 pieces out of this recipe. Filling the pieces with the red bean paste was a little tricky and took the most time for me. I kept coating my fingers with the potato starch to keep it from sticking too much to my hand. I think making these without a filling would taste great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States