Microwave Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Ive made the complicated mochi (why im on here to find an easier way for one of my favorite japanese treats) nd they dont use potatoe startch to put on it for those kinds of recipes, they use jst the regular mochiko, so thats what i will do sense i dont hav any startch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Microwave on high makes it too hard. Other than that, it's okay... Mochi with coconut milk is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xpete911

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Great recipe will make again... Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hourglasswman
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This recipe worked out great for me on the first try, but I did modify/remove a few things from my own version. Instead of water, I used 1 and 1/2 cups of rich coconut milk. I'd seen other recipes online using coconut milk and it just sounded yummier to me! Per another user's suggestion, I subbed veggie oil for the distilled white vinegar. I completely omitted the potato starch, extra 1/4 cup of sugar, and salt and instead used confectioners sugar (powdered sugar). One caution - make sure the mochi is cooled at least MOST of the way before putting any powdered sugar on it, as it will melt and become a sticky mess if it is still hot! Lastly, I added a table spoon of green tea powder to the mix to give it some flavor. I mixed the sugar, rice flour, and coconut milk first, then added the green tea powder. In afterthought, it might have been better to mix the 3 dry ingredients together, first, then add the milk and oil. I microwaved it in 2 minute increments, per another user's suggestion, and stirred. I ended up microwaving it for just 7 minutes total and put it on a piece of tin foil to cool before slicing it and molding it into balls. After letting it cool, I sprinkled it with a bit of powdered sugar to keep it from sticking to everything. It came out delicious and I'll definitely be making it again! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I found this recipe fun and easy so now I make it ALL THE TIME:)!!!!! I recommend to those who don`t like the taste of potato starch (Me) to use tapioca starch instead and don`t skip the vinegar it just is not the same texture. you can make this different flavor by substituting juice,liquid jello macha green tea or any other tasty liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Worked well, I didn't have any problems, but next time I would add less salt to the covering. Otherwise, the turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Simple to make and very good. Cooked it for 8 minutes in a 8 x 8 glass pan. Used Splenda instead of sugar (and used less than the 1 cup). Used a small sprinkling of corn starch on the outside to keep it from sticking to everything instead of the potato starch, sugar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This recipe is pretty darned good and very easy. For traditional mochi to serve with azuki beans, I would decrease the sugar, even by half. I added a few drops of canola oil and a few drops of vanilla. I microwaved 3 minutes on low, 3 minutes on medium, and 3 minutes on high. Didn't have potato starch, so I rolled it in powdered sugar. The original recipe tastes sweet, more like manju. All in all, easy and delicious! Fresh is definitely better than buying store bought or making mochi (pounding) the traditional way. My Japanese grandmother is probably turning over in her grave...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Great! I've wanted to make a sugar-free version of this for myself for ages and this finally gave me the confidence to do it. I used xylitol (a natural sugar alternative that's low glycemic) in place of the sugar and it worked really well. Next time, I'll use a tiny bit less since than the recipe calls for since I prefer it less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi_in_Toronto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Delicious! This was so easy, and it turned out great. I added a bout half of the original amount of sugar, because I was going to stuff them with sweet bean paste. I'm glad I did, because I feel like one cup would be too much. o.o I also halved the potato starch recipe and used cornstarch instead, it turned out fine and there was more than enough for my mochi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States