Microwave Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I love this recipe, while I love the recipes with coconut milk, my son has allergies so we can't have that in the house and this is lightening fast! I grew up in Hawaii, and while I'm back on the mainland, I enjoy celebrating Girls Day and Boys Day, so today we added some food coloring to make a pink tint for girls day. Thank you SO much for your submission :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made bite sized pieces with a peanut filling (1/2 c ground peanuts & 1-2 tbsp peanut butter) and rolled them in finely shredded coconut. DELICIOUS! Then I made a filling out of ground almonds and almond butter (same proportions) and also rolled those in coconut. AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Dowda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
really easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I followed the recipe pretty closely, but I left out the vinegar and I cut down the cooking time to 6 minutes. The texture was perfect this way and the flavor was great, too. I've tried tons of mochi recipes including steaming in a bamboo basket (my family's traditional way of making mochi) and boiling in water. This is the first microwave mochi recipe that I tried, but it's almost exactly like the steamed mochi my family makes and it takes way less time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Good basic starting point recipe. I fiddled with it a lot to try to mimic the bakery fresh coconut mochi I tried and fell in love with. Super similar texture. This recipe made about 12 medium large filled mochi balls. I only used 1/3 cup of sugar with good results. I also substituted 1/2 cup of water that the recipe called for with canned coconut cream as well as added 2 tbsp of dried coconut milk powder with the rice flour.I rolled the balls in finely shredded coconut. This saves me a 50 mile or so trip to the bakery that actually makes mochi so for that, I'll call it a sucess! +1 on less sugar than called for. Mochi is traditionally not THAT sweet. +1 on Cooking in 2 minute increments & Only cooking the mochi in the microwave for 6 minutes. I have a 900 watt microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
very delicious; perfect texture and chewyness. I did follow the advice of several other reviewers and I cut the cook time to six minutes, pausing after three minutes to scrape down the sides and stir it again before putting it back into the microwave. I also put in 1/4 tsp of salt in the beginning for a more distinct flavor, and cut back the sugar by a few tbs. To enhance the color, I added a bit of cherry kool-aid powder to the water before pouring it into the dry ingredients, just enough to turn it slightly pink. Powdered sugar works fine instead of the starch mixture, and I just used a wooden spatula to divide the end product into chunks. A fabulous and easy recipe for anyone who loves sticky rice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Seriously?!?! This is so easy compared to traditional way, where we had steam the mochi!! I just made a batch and looking very good!! Couple of minor changes. 1) I reduced the amount of sugar 2) Instead of starch I am using finely grounded bean powder my friend brought over from Korea. I mixed the bean powder with sugar to make injur-mi(???). Yum~~~~~ Thank you thank you for the easy recipe! Definitely make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was fantastic! I decided to make a half batch to see if I could really make mochi in the microwave. It seemed too good to be true. I followed the suggestions of using half the sugar, a couple drops of vegetable oil instead of vinegar (or canola in my case) and turning it every 2 minutes in the microwave. I also used coconut milk in place of the water. I am rolling it in kinako for some and cornstarch for others. The result? Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Loved this...here's what we did: cut the sugar to 1/2 c, swapped the vinegar with canola oil, and added a couple of drops of vanilla. Also cut the cook time to 6minutes. For the topping, used cornstarch instead of potato starch, and agree w/another reviewer that using the salt was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Ive made the complicated mochi (why im on here to find an easier way for one of my favorite japanese treats) nd they dont use potatoe startch to put on it for those kinds of recipes, they use jst the regular mochiko, so thats what i will do sense i dont hav any startch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States