Microwave Mississippi Mud Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is awesome! I have served it to many people when they are visiting and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very good! I made 1/2 the recipe in a glass 8x8 pan and it cooked really well. Make sure to use the inverted saucer, as I think this helps it cook more evenly. Can't believe how good this is from the microwave. Note that spreading the frosting over the marshmallows, they blend together a bit. Since the marshmallows hadn't softened much after 5 min, I placed the pan with marshmallows back in the microwave about 25 seconds and then frosted. I also didn't have walnuts but didn't even miss them. I will probably use pecans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This was really good but based on other reviews and being a bit short of time I left out the marshmallows and frosting and just topped with vanilla ice cream. I made 1/2 batch and baked it in a PC 8" stone. I left it in for 9 minutes. I think I maybe could've taken it out earlier but am unfamiliar with baking cakes in the microwave. We ate it while warm and the edges got a little firm, hard to cut through with a spoon/fork but when taking a bite that edge actually had the texture of a crisp cookie. All in all really good. It was still a bit on the sweet side but its a little hard to complain about warm chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Wow! I've been experimenting with microwave cake recipes for a while now, and this one is by far the best I've tried. I did add some baking powder, so I can't say how the "original" recipe is, but with about 1/2 tsp baking powder, it was amazing. I've also made it with peppermint extract, which I loved. I don't like things too sweet, so I cut the sugar to half and didn't frost it. It was perfect for me. Also, quartering this recipe works really well. Update: My favorite version of this cake is more "brownie-style" - which means I cut the eggs in half (but still throw in a pinch of baking powder.) I also love this cake as a peanut butter brownie/cake. Substitute half the butter for peanut butter. (I don't add extra flour to make up for the cocoa and it hasn't been a problem.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I found my self to be craving chocolate late last night so i found this recipe and decided to make it right away. I let my son try it today and in the words of my 8 year old "i give this recipe infinity stars because it was so so yummy!!". I must admit i totally concur. I did omit the nuts and marshmallows because i did not have any. And i put it into a square pyrex dish. It only took 14 minutes to cook. I found it DEVILISHLY rich so i did not add the frosting. This is a very easy brownie cake (because that is what it is). This is going to be a super Keeper. I love the thought of having it cooking while we are eating dinner so it will be all warm and perfect with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desi's Delectables

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Very tasty and quick to make! No frosting needed. We made a half recipe in a pyrex pie plate for 5 minutes. It was perfectly soft and moist. We made while waiting for our new oven to arrive, but plan to make it even when we have our oven back. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
oh my it's so good, even without the marsmallow, i just shaved some chocolates on top and it just taste beautiful, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Very much to my surprize this was great. Kids loved it and definately something I will make again. I did not use as much sugar as it called for cut back to 1 3/4 cup. Did not use the frosting but instead made a simple ganache but poured just a little over vanilla ice cream that we put on top. Definately more like warm brownie goodness than cake and making my mouth water again just thinking about it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This recipe actually turned out great! I was checking out recipes that I can make with my daughter's kindergarten class. I made this by cutting the recipe in half. I sprayed a glass bowl (white Pier One luminous porcelain, a medium size serving dish size) with baking spray. I baked in my microwave for 5 minutes and it was perfectly fluffy and done! I put the new stackable shaped marshmallows on top with some milk chocolate chips and microwaved for 30 seconds or so until slightly melted. I topped with walnuts, chocolate syrup, and whipped cream. I skipped the frosting. Awesome and this recipe will work for the classroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was a quick, tasty treat! I loved the consistency; just like a chewy brownie. I didn't have marshmallows but it was still delicious. I made a smaller serving than the original recipe. The texture was not at all like typical desserts when baked in a microwave. I recommend serving it fresh for consumption as soon as it cools! The leftover portion did get harder, i may have cooked it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States