Microwave Mississippi Mud Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I made half a batch to try this one out. Everything cooked very well, the consistency was good, it was pretty easy to make. All good points. I'm giving it 4 stars for those facts. We did NOT like it for only one fact: It was mega- hugely- super- SWEET! Just way too much for us. I guess we should have figured that out in the beginning considering the full batch uses 6 CUPS OF SUGAR! Wowee! Other people may love super-sweet things, but we don't. I'm not going to take off points for personal preference, as that's not fair. But I don't think we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
It was super quick. I was craving something chocolate and this fixed it. I quartered the recipe and it cooked in 5 minutes. I topped it with chocolate syrup instead of making the frosting. I cooked it in a ramekin and it came ou perfectly. I'm going to try some new variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I finally tried this recipe, and the reviews were so right! This cake is so simple to make and it turned out very dense and rich like a brownie. It was almost too chocolately for my tastes but everyone else loved it!! Since it only takes 15 minutes to cook and in the microwave at that, I'm sure I'll be making this on a more regular basis when a quick dessert is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I tried making this recipe in the oven AND in a muffin pan. I wanted little Mississippi cupcakes, it turned out great. I baked it at 375 degrees farenheit (or Gas Mark 4) for 18 minutes. I also incorporated the mini marshmallows in to the better, I had multicoloured ones and they rose to the top to create a very pretty effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Oh so easy!! I've been trying micro dessert recipes lately -- as my sons keep asking after dinner, "What's for dessert?" (been at gramma's too often I think!)Anyway, this one was fast, easy and tasty! It's so nice to be able to throw dessert in teh Micro while the rest of dinner is going! THANKYOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was awesome. My microwave is small so I used a 8 x 8 pyrex pan. Be sure not to overbake or the edges will be hard as a rock. The middle can be a bit gooey. I thought frosting would be overkill, so instead I sprinkled the still warm cake with the mini marshmallows and some chocolate chips. This was amazing spooned into a dessert bowl and served with vanilla ice cream or cool whip. When serving after it has cooled, nuke it a bit first as it is best warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Kopecky Feeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was so far from a cake it was pitiful. Several people asked what kind of brownie mix I used! If you want "chewy" fine. If you want a cake keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Armenia, Quindio, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This recipe actually turned out great! I was checking out recipes that I can make with my daughter's kindergarten class. I made this by cutting the recipe in half. I sprayed a glass bowl (white Pier One luminous porcelain, a medium size serving dish size) with baking spray. I baked in my microwave for 5 minutes and it was perfectly fluffy and done! I put the new stackable shaped marshmallows on top with some milk chocolate chips and microwaved for 30 seconds or so until slightly melted. I topped with walnuts, chocolate syrup, and whipped cream. I skipped the frosting. Awesome and this recipe will work for the classroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Wow this is fudgy tasting, which I love! I didn't use the frosting, since this cake is so rich and chocolatey on its own. I cooked mine for about 8 1/2 mins, and it was perfectly done without getting hard and chewy. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
THIS CAKE IS UNLIKE A CAKE, AND MORE LIKE A RICH, IN BOTH SENSES, DESSERT. IT'S ONE YOU WON'T WANT TO MAKE TOO OFTEN, AS YOU'LL EAT IT TOO QUICKLY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States