Microwave Mississippi Mud Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
THIS CAKE IS UNLIKE A CAKE, AND MORE LIKE A RICH, IN BOTH SENSES, DESSERT. IT'S ONE YOU WON'T WANT TO MAKE TOO OFTEN, AS YOU'LL EAT IT TOO QUICKLY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Oh so easy!! I've been trying micro dessert recipes lately -- as my sons keep asking after dinner, "What's for dessert?" (been at gramma's too often I think!)Anyway, this one was fast, easy and tasty! It's so nice to be able to throw dessert in teh Micro while the rest of dinner is going! THANKYOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Killer cake! Rich and decadent. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyAMo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I finally tried this recipe, and the reviews were so right! This cake is so simple to make and it turned out very dense and rich like a brownie. It was almost too chocolately for my tastes but everyone else loved it!! Since it only takes 15 minutes to cook and in the microwave at that, I'm sure I'll be making this on a more regular basis when a quick dessert is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My oven was disconeccted when my husband was doing some const. on my floor and I wanted to bake something so bad but I only had use of the microwave. I found this recipe and was so pleased with the results. It is the best when very fresh. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I tried making this recipe in the oven AND in a muffin pan. I wanted little Mississippi cupcakes, it turned out great. I baked it at 375 degrees farenheit (or Gas Mark 4) for 18 minutes. I also incorporated the mini marshmallows in to the better, I had multicoloured ones and they rose to the top to create a very pretty effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This is very good, but too sweet for our tastes. I think it would be better with just a half batch of frosting. There is almost as much frosting as cake when the recipe is made exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Wow, this certainly is a great way to use your microwave! To us, this was more of a hard bar than a soft brownie, but still very good (especially warm). The icing is excellent and when it melts over the bars, ummmm.... We had this with vanilla ice cream for a perfect Father's Day dessert. We all think that this should be renamed "Rocky Road Bars," because that is the exact flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was very good, the only thing was that I used whole wheat flour instead and it was great, very yummy! Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I did as another reviewer stated and only did half of the frosting required which I think was more than enough but it came out very runny. Not sure what I did wrong it was still nice and yummy and my hubby agreed! I will keep doing it again and it was great to have without turning on the oven. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
It was super quick. I was craving something chocolate and this fixed it. I quartered the recipe and it cooked in 5 minutes. I topped it with chocolate syrup instead of making the frosting. I cooked it in a ramekin and it came ou perfectly. I'm going to try some new variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States