Microwave Mississippi Mud Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Wow this is fudgy tasting, which I love! I didn't use the frosting, since this cake is so rich and chocolatey on its own. I cooked mine for about 8 1/2 mins, and it was perfectly done without getting hard and chewy. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was awesome. My microwave is small so I used a 8 x 8 pyrex pan. Be sure not to overbake or the edges will be hard as a rock. The middle can be a bit gooey. I thought frosting would be overkill, so instead I sprinkled the still warm cake with the mini marshmallows and some chocolate chips. This was amazing spooned into a dessert bowl and served with vanilla ice cream or cool whip. When serving after it has cooled, nuke it a bit first as it is best warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Kopecky Feeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I have never had Mississippi Mud Cake, but I was looking for a microwave chocolate cake and this came up. It looked good, so I tried to make it. I followed the directions, but what I made did not look like the picture at all. The cake was more like a brownie and did not rise at all. The flavor was a bit too buttery, but it was alright. The frosting was not dark at all, like the photo. It was too thin and ran right off of the cake. My sons ate it, and I would make it again as a quick brownie but I think I'd try less butter, for sure, and pre-made frosting. It was so rich, I didn't even finish one slice, which was 1/8 of the cake. I was expecting a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenn, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was WOW! We loved it.. I couldn't believe how simple it was and I didn't tell anyone how simple it had been! :) The icing that goes on the very top is heaven! Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was so far from a cake it was pitiful. Several people asked what kind of brownie mix I used! If you want "chewy" fine. If you want a cake keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Armenia, Quindio, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
It was super quick. I was craving something chocolate and this fixed it. I quartered the recipe and it cooked in 5 minutes. I topped it with chocolate syrup instead of making the frosting. I cooked it in a ramekin and it came ou perfectly. I'm going to try some new variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was very good, the only thing was that I used whole wheat flour instead and it was great, very yummy! Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I did as another reviewer stated and only did half of the frosting required which I think was more than enough but it came out very runny. Not sure what I did wrong it was still nice and yummy and my hubby agreed! I will keep doing it again and it was great to have without turning on the oven. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Wow, this certainly is a great way to use your microwave! To us, this was more of a hard bar than a soft brownie, but still very good (especially warm). The icing is excellent and when it melts over the bars, ummmm.... We had this with vanilla ice cream for a perfect Father's Day dessert. We all think that this should be renamed "Rocky Road Bars," because that is the exact flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This is very good, but too sweet for our tastes. I think it would be better with just a half batch of frosting. There is almost as much frosting as cake when the recipe is made exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I tried making this recipe in the oven AND in a muffin pan. I wanted little Mississippi cupcakes, it turned out great. I baked it at 375 degrees farenheit (or Gas Mark 4) for 18 minutes. I also incorporated the mini marshmallows in to the better, I had multicoloured ones and they rose to the top to create a very pretty effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States