Microwave Mississippi Mud Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Very much to my surprize this was great. Kids loved it and definately something I will make again. I did not use as much sugar as it called for cut back to 1 3/4 cup. Did not use the frosting but instead made a simple ganache but poured just a little over vanilla ice cream that we put on top. Definately more like warm brownie goodness than cake and making my mouth water again just thinking about it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This recipe actually turned out great! I was checking out recipes that I can make with my daughter's kindergarten class. I made this by cutting the recipe in half. I sprayed a glass bowl (white Pier One luminous porcelain, a medium size serving dish size) with baking spray. I baked in my microwave for 5 minutes and it was perfectly fluffy and done! I put the new stackable shaped marshmallows on top with some milk chocolate chips and microwaved for 30 seconds or so until slightly melted. I topped with walnuts, chocolate syrup, and whipped cream. I skipped the frosting. Awesome and this recipe will work for the classroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was a quick, tasty treat! I loved the consistency; just like a chewy brownie. I didn't have marshmallows but it was still delicious. I made a smaller serving than the original recipe. The texture was not at all like typical desserts when baked in a microwave. I recommend serving it fresh for consumption as soon as it cools! The leftover portion did get harder, i may have cooked it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrittanyG
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made this as stated very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyG

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Dunn, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I made half a batch to try this one out. Everything cooked very well, the consistency was good, it was pretty easy to make. All good points. I'm giving it 4 stars for those facts. We did NOT like it for only one fact: It was mega- hugely- super- SWEET! Just way too much for us. I guess we should have figured that out in the beginning considering the full batch uses 6 CUPS OF SUGAR! Wowee! Other people may love super-sweet things, but we don't. I'm not going to take off points for personal preference, as that's not fair. But I don't think we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made this during a post-dinner chocolate attack. I omitted the marshmallows and frosting and the resulting cake was quick and super rich and PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weed, California, USA
Living In: Yreka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Oh my goodness!! 10 stars!! This was sooo good. The kids all said it was the best. Definitely not cake, though...it's a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I'm a HUGE brownie fan. This cake definately has the density of a brownie but doesn't come close to tasting as good as a one. It's very chocolatey but I'm not a fan of the taste. It's really easy to make though! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was a very simple recipe and it tasted great, although mine turned out to be a bit hard, maybe I overbaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Wow this is fudgy tasting, which I love! I didn't use the frosting, since this cake is so rich and chocolatey on its own. I cooked mine for about 8 1/2 mins, and it was perfectly done without getting hard and chewy. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States