Microwave Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I'm certainly impressed with this recipe, especially coming from a microwave. Mine cooked to the right consistency in about 5 1/2 minutes. It will be thin when it's done, but if it can coat the back of your spoon, it's done. The curd will thicken up as it cools. The written recipe made almost exactly 3 half-pint jars worth. I used high-quality bottled lemon juice and it was a bit too tangy. I think using fresh juice would make a more mellow-tasting curd. Overall, an excellent recipe worth saving. TIP - strain the curd through a fine-mesh seive to remove all the white egg bits to ensure a perfectly smooth curd. **Update - The curd from the original recipe is quite grainy after it's refridgerated. I tested the recipe 2 more times and ended up with a wonderfully smooth, thicker, richer curd that can easily rival the ones you buy in gourmet stores. Use 3 whole eggs plus 2 egg yolks and increase the sugar to 1 1/4 cup. It won't be two sweet but will mellow out the tartness. I still cooked it 5 1/2 min. and it was perfect. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
499 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by DIANE73162
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This was AWSOME! I rolled out premade pie crusts and cut it with a cookie cutter to fit mini cupcake pan, baked it for 10 minutes and filled the little pastry cups with this lemon curd. They were GREAT! I never made such a quick and easy dessert before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
If I didn't see this for myself I would have never believed it. I followed the directions exactly, used the ingredients exactly, and in two minutes flat (seriously!) I had a beautiful, sweet, tart, fresh homemade lemon curd. Remarkable. I used this for the lemon filling in "Lemon Lush," also from this site. I am really impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
I have made this recipe on several occasions, both for personal use and to give as gifts. I use it to fill tarts, pour it warm over pound cake and as a spread on muffins and my favorite~just plain in custard cups. Everyone that has tasted it has asked for the recipe. Thank you for submitting such a tasty and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was great! As I like my lemon curd really smooth (with no crumbly/crunchy bits of zest that is), I used a vegetable peeler to make large ribons of zest, which I could then easily remove once the lemon curd had cooled a little. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIBULLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great Recipe and easy to make!! If you don't have enough lemon juice, unsweetened Kool-aid lemon ade flavor adds a great flavor to the curd. To the viewer who asked if Splenda works, yes it does, however, I added 1 1/3 cups of Splenda and 1 Tablespoon of corn starch just to make sure. Make sure the corn starch is added to cold liquid. I added mine to the lemon juice. Also, I left out the egg whites as they are unnecessary and thre is no chance of cooked egg whites in the cooked curd. A great place to use the egg whites is in a great recipe for homemade marshmallows. I found it on the the food network under "Hot Cocoa and Homemade Marshmallows". They are really easy to make (no temperature gauge)and made by Tyler Florence, and are they wonderfully soft!!! I will try to post the recipe or hopefully someone else will if I don't get around to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: L'anse, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
MMM!! soo good and sooo easy!! but I set my microwave to 50% and didnt need to do it for more than 2 mins..I tampered the eggs with heated butter,sugar and lemon juice and that prevented the egg from being cooked into bits.. whenever I could see the mixture bubble slightly, I would shut the microwave and beat the lemon curd.. This is was too good! I ate it with vanilla cupcakes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plutosangel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I was worried aboout the prep in the microwave, but the curd came out beautifully. I did start it out in the microwave with the butter solid in chunks but it melted long before the curd came together so it didn't matter (one less dirty dish). I also did the first three minutes on full power and then the rest on half power, because I have a powerful microwave. So simple I will make it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This recipe is AWESOME!!! It took 2 MINUTES in my microwave to make!! I didn't temper my eggs so I did have some small cooked egg bits. I did strain the curd through a fine mesh strainer. To see if this would turn out I scaled the recipe to 5 servings using 1 egg. I have bought lemon curd (that was very expensive) from specialty stores before. Not anymore!! Can't wait to make the entire serving recipe and give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
This was really good and simple to make aswell! I spooned it over vanilla ice cream for a quick but delicous sunday night dessert for the family. I also used it spooned over To Die For Blueberry Muffins(also on this sight) for dessert in a hurry. Don't be fooled by how runny it looks in the microwave, because it thickens as soon as it cools!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

How to Juice a Lemon

Watch the best, easiest way to juice a lemon, fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States