Microwave Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by GingerbreadMommy
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I used the juice of 1 frozen lemon. I skipped the zest as the skin was too wet to grate. I topped up the fresh juice with store bought lime juice. (I didn't have any lemon juice.) I followed the recipe exactly otherwise. I microwaved at 70 percent in 1 minute intervals. It took close to 10 minutes but the effect was pure creamy curd. No lumps or anything! You can spend the time straining through cheese cloth or the extra time at the microwave but on low power. I never did see it boil as by the time it got that hot, the curd was already so thick. I filled store bought pastry shells. It was a hit with the kids and our family. Such an easy dessert to make and great for company. We like it very tangy and it was. It's better than the store-bought lemon curd tarts I've been craving and buying on impulse at the groceries. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerbreadMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I made this at my daughters and it turned out wonderful--I made it again when I got home and it was runny and never thickened. The only difference is the fact that I used two different microwave ovens. I would venture to guess my experience explains why some people (most) rave about it and others are disappointed in the consistency. I will try again and add cornstarch to the sugar and see if that does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I found this on a food blog and decided it was worth a try. I've had issues with curd before but this one is almost foolproof. The biggest issue is not overcooking it. I average 2-3minutes of cook time in my microwave. After it bubbles I use 30second intervals to make sure its not too cooked. It also makes a wonderful lime curd. I tried a pink grapefruit curd but it wasn't quite tart enough. Made with local real butter and fresh eggs from chickens its hard to not eat the entire jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Watts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
YUM delicious recipe! EASY as can be wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Wish I knew about this a long time ago. So much easier than slaving over a stove for 30 minutes. I stirred every 30 seconds and it came out great. Used to make molasses sandwich cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
so easy!! turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I tried this last week with Meyer lemons and oh, my, is it delicious. I made 2 batches because I had quite a few lemons and hesitated to try doubling the recipe. I'm glad I made the 2 separate batches because it gave me an opportunity to test the time required to get the curd the right thickness. I cooked the first batch about 8 minutes, stirring with a whisk after each minute. In my opinion, it never did get quite thick enough, but it tasted great. On the second batch, I cooked it about 4 minutes and then didn't get back to stir it for perhaps another five minutes. It was nearly right. So I cooked it one more minute (a total of 5) and left it unstirred after the final minute. It came out what I thought was the perfect thickness. Both batches were quite usable after a night in the fridge, but I think the second batch was the best consistency. I think perhaps I overcooked the first batch. Shorter cook time, and not stirring at the end, seemed to be the key to a better consistency. This got rave reviews as part of a cake I took to a ladies' dessert event. Several asked for the recipe. I will definitely be making this curd again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
WOW! I used the juice of 2 lemons, and their zest. Then I used bottled juice to make up the rest of the 1 cup lemon juice. Perfect!! Served this with a big bowl of fresh blackberries, blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
It's a great recipe. I didn't have butter so used margine and heated that with the lemon juice ( didn't use zest). While that heated for about a minute, I beated the sugar and eggs together, and slowly added in the heated lemon juice mix... then heated the whole thing 4x 1minute each/stir...no scramble egg pieces and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was incredibly easy and it turned out delicious! I used the microwave at half power for about 6 or 7 minutes and it came out great. I didn't strain through a fine mesh strainer, but would next time because the overall consistency is a little bit gritty. But it's very lemony and very tart. Thanks for the quick and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

How to Juice a Lemon

Watch the best, easiest way to juice a lemon, fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States