Microwave Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I hadn't planned on writing a review, on something as simple as Microwave Corn on the Cob, but as easy as this was, and since it saved me from having to wash out a pot, you've got to give credit, where credit is due. That was tasty, and something I'll do over and over again; good job Cheri, and thanks. Five Stars, and Two Thumbs Up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I always microwave in the husk. I soak the corn first for 10-15 mins in the sink and and then pop into the microwave for 5 mins (3-4 ears of corn). The husks and silk come right off, but it's very hot. I use a potholder to hold the corn. This is so easy and so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
No need to husk the corn. I microwave fresh corn on the cob - in the husk. (about 3 minutes / ear). Then I husk the corn and the silk just falls off. So much easier. I've done it this way for about 10 years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I have a comment: I do something similar, but I leave the corn in the husk and microwave 4 min. It is a bit messy to peel, but comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This seems like a great idea, but I just take the corn on the cob and peal back some of the husk, not all of it and microwave it on high for 3 minutes per ear, it tastes awesome and the corn silk seems to come off the ear much easier that way. But like was said before in another post....be careful it is very very hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DreamZZZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Fantastic way to cook corn - but you don't have to husk it - just stick whole ear in microwave and nuke about 2 minutes an ear -it stays warm in the husks until you are ready to peel and eat. Our favorite way to cook corn. I also freeze it, but I freeze it whole and thaw in frig overnight. tates like just picked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Microwaved corn is the best! I use wax paper - it holds the moisture in so that the corn steams itself, no need for water at all. I break the ear in half first, put the halves back together and roll in a sheet of wax paper, starting in a corner and rolling to the opposite corner. Just twist the ends to seal, and when the corn is ready, the ends make a cool place to touch when you pull the corn out of the microwave onto a plate. The wax paper just breaks apart as you are doing this, so the cleanup is super easy! When I'm craving something salty I sometimes have an ear as a snack, it's just so quick and better for you than other salty snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Don't recommend putting corn in a plastic baggie as one reviewer said - not safe to use plastic in a microwave, no matter what it says. Just as easy to wrap in wet paper towel and microwave 1 ear for 2-3 minutes. No need to turn if your microwave has a self-turning plate. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I microwave fresh corn in the husk and use silicone pot holders to peel them after they're cooked (prevents me from getting burned!) Also, I store fresh corn wrapped in damp dishtowels in the veggie crisper.....they stay fresh quite a while this way! I do check the towels daily to make sure they stay damp. Good tip for summer when corn is cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I wrap a dry towel around ear of corn and then wet. It's easier then trying to get a limp wet towel around ear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VirginiaGent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States