Microwave Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I haven't boiled corn in water in ages after I tried this method. It's so quick, and the corn comes out great. Make sure the paper towels are dampened so it's like steaming it. I usually nuke for 3 minutes, and it comes out perfect. Then the usual butter/salt. Additionally, on a small portion of the corn, I sometimes kick it up with some chile powder or black pepper. Try either...a nice combo with the corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Came out great! Wrapped in a wet paper towel and microwaved one ear for 3 minutes. I did find the ends a little rubbery, but I'm not sure if I may have overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVJANE62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Waxed paper! And I butter each ear before wrapping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I wrap ears in wax paper and cook on high for 2 min. per ear. Wax paper keeps the moisture in. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I don't like the taste of the corn wrapped in paper towels so, I put two ears of corn in a good microsafe plastic bowl, " One that the corn will fit in", I added a little water to cover the bottom and cooked for 5 mins. the best tasting corn I have ever eaten. Muck better then boiling on wrapping in paper towels. I bed you could use a glass bowl also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hawk Run, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Wrapped them in damp paper towels (3 ears) cooked them in the microwave for 6 minutes only. They turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
The microwave concept is great if you're making one ear of corn for yourself. If I was serving more people, I'd still boil it with a pinch of sugar added - the way my mother and grandmother always did. 5 minutes is WAY too long for my microwave and wrapping it in a damp paper towel only made the corn mushy. I found that two minutes without the paper towel gave me a crisp ear of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe!! Crispy and so sweet!! I will NEVER boil corn again after trying this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Had dinner almost ready when I realised I had forgotten the corn, which was already husked. Went looking for a quick microwave recipe and found this one. 2 minutes per cob - perfect - and no pot to wash! Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Gourmet Gal, if you want an even easier-cleanup method, nuke them in the husk! When they are cooked, cut the end of the cob off, husk and all, cutting through about 2 of the bottom rows. Grab the silk end with a potholder or dishcloth, and you can squeeze the cob out (sorta like toothpaste). The husk AND the silk slip off in one piece. You will NEVER go back to boil-and-peel after you try this. Check Youtube for numerous vids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States