Microwave Caramel Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Used 2 bags of 3.29oz Orville microwave popcorn and skipped the salt. The quantity worked out well. Took others' advice to transfer the popcorn to a bowl to rid of corn kernels that didn't pop, and to stir the caramel in. Then I put the popcorn back into the original microwave bags (which was already coated with oil) to continue with the second stages of microwaving. Turned out great with just 2 minutes. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
My husband and I really loved this. It's so simple! I used real butter rather than margarine, and did not cook as long in the microwave, as some said theirs burnt, and I do think that is the microwave. I just eyeballed it (well, smelled mostly). I think I did a minute and a half, a minute after the stir, and then 45 seconds after the coating. Also I used two bags of light microwave popcorn, and this was enough for both, in my opinion. (Used light because I've been trying to use up a box.) I did not have a paper bag, so I coated and re-cooked in a large flat rubbermaid container, like the kind you carry cupcakes in, instead of the plastic bag. I coated, put the lid on, and flipped upside-down and back a few times. I do think that it is imperative that you spread it out and let it cool because it will harden at this time. Agree with another reviewer: don't skip the baking soda. You definitely need it. Also with another reviewer: dump out your popcorn and then pick it up and put it back in so that you get rid of the kernels. They will stick into the caramel corn and you will bite right into them if you don't. So glad someone mentioned this! Thanks for this recipe! It's going to be a great addition to our family movie night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly, it really takes about fifteen minutes and tastes like gourmet caramel corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Have used a recipe similar to this for several years. I use butter and only cook the caramel sauce 1 1/2 min, stir; cook 1 1/2 more min, for total of 3 min. We like ours chewy. Traditionally make it on Halloween for the family to munch on. This is definitely our favorite confection we enjoy most in the fall and winter months. One must be careful to take in account their microwave wattage. I think that is why some reviewers report failure. Thanks to reviewers for all the suggestions for changing this up by adding various kinds of nuts, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJHoffman
Home Town: Harrington, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Followed the recipe but the sauce smelled burnt. When put on the popcorn, it tasted bitter. Will not try again. Have tried another caramel popcorn recipe which was perfect but couldn't find it again. If I do, I will post it in Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is the worst recipe I have ever tried...like EVER! The caramel was fully cooked after 2.5 minutes and anything beyond that completely burned it. my kitchen still smells liked burnt popcorn. THUMBS DOWN!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
YUM!! And so easy! Well, a lot more work than regular popcorn but this was my first attempt attempt at caramel popcorn and it was a hit. I admit I toned down the popcorn to topping ratio a bit to be healthier. I made it 75% strength (3QT popcorn to 1/2 this recipe of toppings). Also toned down the microwave time. I did 15 second at 80% power for each of FOUR turns, shaking each time. Easy enough and yummy for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Margarine? You're kidding, right? Only the real thing will do. (That's butter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Bisaillon

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
we've made this several times! it's easy and delicious! one note on popcorn measurements: the small boxes of micro popcorn contain 3 x 3.3 oz bags. This pops out to just 1 quart! So stock up on the pantry-friendly popcorn if you want to have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Castroville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Easy Peasy! And delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby
Home Town: Amery, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States