Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
We finally planted the vegetable garden that we've been talking about for years. The cucumber plants are going hog wild! I've been looking for recipes to use them up, and this one is definitely a winner. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out great. After the family kept requesting more and more pickles, I started to worry about all of the sugar. So, I decided to try it with Splenda. I am happy to say that they turned out just as good! Thanks for this quick and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Delicious base recipe perfect for tailoring to your needs. I'm giving this 4 stars only because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used 1 cucumber, 1/2 an onion, and sliced them. Put them in a bowl and added slightly less than 1/2 cup sugar, and slightly less than 1/2 cup distilled white vinegar. Sprinkled with Mrs. Dash then microwaved for 4 minutes, stirred, 4 minutes again, then let it cool before putting in the fridge. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These were awesome! After reading reviews I decided to use 3/4 C sugar. I felt they were too sweet so the next batch I only used 1/2 C and they were much better. Sure will be doing these again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
So easy, and so delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hortonville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
It was so fun to make this from the cucumbers in my garden. The first 2 jars where gone in one night when neighbors stopped to visit. I may plant more next year just to make these pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These are great and I gave them to neighbors and friends as gifts. They all wanted the recipe. I will definitely be making these again. My brother could hardly wait to make a ham on rye sandwich with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I would give this more stars if possible. Made them for a family picnic and everyone went wild! Passed the recipe on to family who then passed it on to their in-laws and friends, who passed it on, and on and on! I can't keep them in the house! I didn't even change a thing. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Who knew making B&B pickles could be this easy?! I had 2 large cucumbers left over from this past summer's crop sitting in the fridge - I made cucumber salad, gaspacho soup and many other wonderful recipes from this site, but frankly, was all 'cuked out until I saw this recipe. Wow, so easy to make (19 minutes) and the taste/texture (nice and crunchy) is good. I used a whole white onion, will probably use less onion next time, and I'll make it a sweet one instead. The onion and two pickles filled a large mason jar PERFECTLY, and produced enough "juice" to cover it all. Will definitely be using this recipe for next year's harvest. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Great recipe! This was my first attempt and will be making often. I did decrease the sugar by 1/2 cup like others, as well as additions of celery & mustard seeds. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
My Mother used to make a version of these using Zuchinni Squash. I have used this recipe for cucumbers and the sqaush. I did add 2-3 garlic cloves and my husband loves them. I also use thicker slices that take a bit more time to get to crispy cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Wilton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States