Microwave Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
That was delicious! My potato was small so I did 2 and left the time alone. It may have been better if I knocked a minute off each side for the size though. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Made this last night for my family. Parts of the potato were rock hard. I was thinking this morning that over-baking is worth the time for the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Billstrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
It has been my experience that microwaving a potato on high for a long period of time creates hard spots that are over-cooked. I like to set my microwave to cycle in two stages. The first stage is high for 2 to 4 minutes depending on the size of the potato, then set the oven to half power for a remaining 3 to five minutes (again depending on the size of the potato). Then I wrap them in a clean dish towel to continue cooking and to stay warm until the meat is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillyG2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This worked very well for me and I will definitely be doing this again in the future. However, I burnt my fingers on removing the plate from the microwave so I suggest wearing oven mitts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
My husband has always done this since I've known him. His trick for steaming it is to wrap potatoes (a few together if they are small) in a paper towel and then run the package under running water (passes through it quickly a couple of times to get a damp paper towel) then puts it in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I've been microwaving our baked potatoes for years. It's quick, easy & the potatoes taste the same. For those who are having problems with overcooked or undercooked potatoes I can only suggest testing from time to time. I give medium sized potatoes 6 minutes in my 1,100 watt microwave, squeeze them with my fingertips to test for softness & if they're not done I give them another couple of minutes & test again. When they're almost done I let them sit in the microwave for a bit as they will continue to cook a little from their own heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Been doing this for years too. Add to it though, when I do do it I usually toss in an extra tater for next day breakfast hash browns. In my micro 5-6 minutes works pretty good for 2 medium to large taters flipping em over bout 1/2 way through. I found that chopping up a baked tater in the fridge over night less painful that trying to hack up a fresh hot one. Then just brown em up. I can never get my hash browns done right just hackin n fryin raw taters. Sorry if I got off main topic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I like to coat my potatos with olive oil and sea salt like I would if I were baking in the oven. I place them in a covered casserole dish to cook in the microwave. I think they cook faster and taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Best way when Microwaving is to poke the potatoes with a fork deep and then wrap in a paper towel, run the whole thing under the facet soaking wet and place on plate then into microwave. It steams the potatoes an keep them from getting hard and dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Easy as can be....I take the potato out when done and rub with olive oil and Kosher salt and put in a small oven to crisp the skin which my family likes to eat.....thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States