Microwave Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I tried this and it royally up my potato. It got all wrinkly and shriveled and hard as hell. Did I poke too many holes? Not enough? 5 minutes is 5 minutes no matter where you are, and I didn't cook this at Mile High Stadium, so I'm assuming my microwave works the same as yours. What the .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paxton Cesaroni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Sweet recipe. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This method doesn't account for microwave power levels. Because of this, my trusty little one-setting microwave burnt the potato to a hard-as-a-rock level. The method certainly works if times or microwave power settings are adjusted, but for anyone taking their first attempt at this method, it's poorly written or described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lithium Jay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Only toughened the skin a bit, otherwise perfectly cooked in about 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daren Junker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I do this all the time. It's great! If you haven't done it before.. please take a minute or two at a time, and check the potato in between. It's always going to vary depending on microwave and size or amount of potatoes. Be careful and enjoy. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I tried this one and while its ok, it does not compare to an oven baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Although I prefer a "baked" potato with crispy skin.....this is quick when you have less time. Butter, sour cream, salt and pepper.....no one complains....time saver when needed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Tip: if your potato is medium, do not cook for 10 mins. Lower to 5 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I do these all the time. Time depends on size so you will get to know how long depending on the potato size. I use a toothpick to pierce the spud and if it goes in easy your done. The potato will start to wrinkle if cooked to long.(still tastes ok). This recipe is similar to the twice baked potato recipe I saw here somewhere. The 5-6min suggested is about right for average spuds and turning over is a must as bottom will stay hard or uncooked if unturned. Piercing is un-necessary as spuds won't explode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
My microwave started smoking before it was done. Do not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States