Microwave Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Worst recipe EVER. DO NOT do this! Unlike Rich, I got lucky, my potato did not set on fire... However smoke began to profusely pour out of my microwave before the second 5 minutes was up. The potato turned hard as a rock... the smell in my house is indescribably horrible. Much like Coffee beans set on fire. We had to eat the other parts of our meal outside because the smell was horrible and the potato was inedible! And after smelling like that, who'd want to eat it? This person clearly has a VERY weak, SMALL microwave, with no power. I Run a standard, household 1100 watt Microwave, they apparently do not. It ruined the night, it ruined my family's dinner, it ruined my house... I may have to camp outside because even with every window open, the A/C turned on circulation fan, my kitchen stove vent on full power, my bathroom vent on (the bathroom is right off the kitchen) and a stand-alone fan on high speed blowing air out of a giant, double-wide open window in the living room (which is right off the kitchen, they are only separated by a breakfast bar, so very open concept.) the smell would NOT go away. We've had all that running for over two hours now. 5 minutes on full power and then another 5 minutes on full power is just TOO LONG! This recipe should specify microwave size/wattage to prevent people from killing themselves with toxic fumes and in the case of another reviewer, flaming potatoes! And no amount of water would've saved this potato, it needed a hammer and a chisel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
this recipe sucks it made my bake potato hard and flat find a new one or get rid of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Klein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Love these Potatos. Use all the time. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Wonderful! Cutting in half and fluffing makes all the difference. For those that said it was too hard...the potato should be room temperature for only 12 mins. If it is cold, it will take twice the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This deserves a five star. Easy to make and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Princeton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Recipes is good but please, all you reviewers who talk about wrapping a baked potato in plastic bag or wrap. Please research what that does to the potato...very unhealthy for you. Just a friendly warning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Was awesome. Easy and tastes just like a regular baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halostar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Do not overcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
The potato caught on fire about 8 minutes into the cooking. Ruined the microwave & filled the house with smoke. Do NOT microwave for the full 10 minutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States