Microwave Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is one of my hubby's favorite recipes. I literally make this for him 4 times a week! It is a working wife's dream come true. If I happen to have bacon bits I sprinkle those on there but you really don't have to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Utica, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I always make potatoes in the microwave. I am not sure why a recipe is needed, actually? Microwaves today have a potato button. It allows the microwave to be pre-set for how many potatoes are going to be cooked. For one potato, it shouldn't be a full 10 minutes. Wash the potato well and oil and salt it a little for a better tasting skin. It is also a quick and easy way, to have potatoes ready for hashbrowns or mashed potatoes, when busy. Make them first, and let cool down, and use in recipes calling for boiled potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by courtbake87
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
yummy! fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtbake87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This works great. For a real treat, remove after 6 minutes, brush with oil and rub with sea salt. Bake at 450 for an additional 20 minutes for an extra crispy skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghenghis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I'll try cooking the potato in a paper bag next time but the recipe gets 4 stars as is. Would not recommend cooking anything with plastic wrap touching the food itself as it can cause chemicals to leech into what you're microwaving (even microwave-safe plastic wrap recommends keeping the food 1 inch away from the wrap). I'll use this technique next time I make twice baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Amazing, I just put a bit of water at the bottom of the plate for fear of flaming potatoes and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
if you cut an X into the top of the potato about halfway through, it cooks a little faster & when it's done, you just squish it together towards the X with 4 fingers & it opens up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I love that this is a real time saver. Sometimes I add bacon or ham. I also tried different cheeses. This recipe is a great base to prepare a delicious meal in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Ferland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I like to scrub potatoes, dry them, put in a fold top sandwich bag, spray with butter flavor oil spray,close bag loosly,one potato 2min. turn over, 2 min more. I normally fix two spuds( med,size) for 3 min,turn over,3 more min, check to see if potatoes are soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
UPDATE: I used this method to cook the potatoes for Baked Potato Soup. Turned out really well! PREVIOUS REVIEW: This recipe as written is only a 3 because the first time I nuked the potatoes, the skin turned tough and chewy. The second time around, I rubbed olive oil on the skin and wrapped them in baking paper with a small tear in the corner to let out steam. I microwaved for the same amount of time, and the potato came out moist; and the skin was not tough and chewy. I will make my baked potatoes like this from now on. This method is sure an energy and time saver with delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

Displaying results 71-80 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States