Microwave Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I have done this for years. I put as many potatoes as I can fit on a salad plate, stick 'em with a knife 5 times each, and seal them in a gallon sized zipper bag. Then I microwave on high for 5-7 min just keep checking by sticking a knife through the bag into a potato. The newer microwaves are much more powerful so find a time right for yours and remember it. This works everytime. I'll never use the oven again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOODCOOKERMOM
Home Town: Clarksdale, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Came out great - cooking time was perfect for 3 large potatoes. Only additional tip: I wrapped the potatoes in a dampened paper towel first to seal in the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Another helpful tip: After washing and pricking potatoes, massage them with olive oil and season with sea salt and pepper. Then put them in the microwave as directed. The oil helps to keep the potato skins nice and supple and it also helps to keep the salt and pepper seasoning in place. This method works well in a conventional oven as well. People who eat the skins will enjoy this cooking method as it leaves the skins tender yet crisp (in the oven). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I used the plastic wrap tip and they turned out great! Not quite as good as the oven but considering how quick, they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I followed the baking instructions to a T and my brand new GE Profile microwave caught fire and is now in the trash. My house smells of burnt potato and microwave. Not a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Definitely not the same as an authentic baked potato, but choice of toppings can help overcome this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is good in a time crunch - I use the Perfect Baked Potato recipe from this site for the oven style (brush olive oil after pricking and sprinkle with salt) so I do this step for the microwave too. For those of you who are following that tip to wrap in plastic wrap - beware, chemicals from the plastic wrap will leach into your potato if you do this. I would only use those plastic bags that are designed for the microwave otherwise you are putting your health at risk. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
YAY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christianna Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
These are really good, and are the only reason we ate a 5lbs. of potatoes in a week. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Um I used red potatoes and baked two washed them and put them in a ziploc bag open and popped them in the microwave for the suggested 5 well it took 3 then I put them in a bowl and then I nooked them for about 1 minute with butter on them and they were perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misses Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States