Microwave Asparagus Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this today and did not change a thing. It got big raves from my husband - " best salad I ever had. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks for posting it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I scaled this down to two servings, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. I have not prepared asparagus in the microwave, so I was interested to see how this would work. I set the timer for 3 minutes, and it was a little long for us, because it was past the "toothy" stage. 5 minutes would have caused it to disintegrate, I believe. There were no problems with the lack of a vent in the plastic wrap. As a matter of fact, it worked quite well, and as soon as the dish hit room air, the asparagus looked like it had been shrink-wrapped. Nice touch to add hazel nuts, but I feel walnuts would have worked just as well. This was a tasty salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
12-7-11: Would be a '5' given less of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
It is nice to know that I can cook asparagus in the microwave. I didn't serve this over greens, just served the marinated asparagus as a side dish. Next time I'll cut the dressing/marinade in half because there was way more than I needed for just the asparagus. Still, this was quite good and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Steamed the asparagus, toasted the hazelnuts, added a splash of honey to dressing and let it all marinade together overnight. Yum! I have to agree that the asparagus tastes better alone than with the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
had to use up some asparagus fast.Followed directions,adding a little minced garlic to marinade,used olive oil.I have never been able to cook asparsgus in micro.THANKS FOR THE TIP.This is just delicious,alone or on lettuce.Didn't bother with nuts.Will keep this.Great for company!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I have served this at several dinner parties now. It is so easy and absolutely delicious. People like the dressing so much they dip meat in it after the greens are gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I love the simplicity of microwaving the asparagus. I microwaved the asparagus (snapped into thirds) and a little bit of diced red onion. I made the dressing as directed. I loved it. The only reason why I gave it four stars versus five was I do not think you need to serve it over greens. A nice touch but not required. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This was good but nothing amazing. I marinated the asparagus in 1/2 the dressing and then used the other 1/2 on the salad. I also added tomato, cucumber, and boiled eggs. I used almonds instead of hazelnuts. I steamed the asparagus instead of doing it in the microwave. Overall it was very easy but not so great that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
a nice quick salad although I too added a little sweetness to the dressing (and halfed it)- I added orange honey which complimented the juice. I also steamed the asparagus instead of microwaving it... that allowed me to avoid the hassle of configuring microwave wattage. Running the cooked asparagus under cold water after it was to my liking, also stopped the cooking to help keep it somewhat crisp. This recipe would also go nicely over baby spinach with fresh bacon bits replacing the hazelnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States