Microwave Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Easy, and delicous. I used Macintosh and Old Fashioned Oats, because that is what I had and they still turned out great. I am not sure if that is why my apples were kind of mushy, but I don't mind that. I think if I didn't cook it the whole ten minutes, the topping might not have been done enough. I was happy to make a treat in this heat without warming up the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Great! I like to eat apples in different ways as a snack and cut down this recipe to 1 serving, and made myself some. I didn't want to burn it so I only put it in the microwave for 2 minutes and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This recipe came out so great! I doubled the recipe and placed the ingredients into a large oval microwave-safe dish. I added about 1/4 cup of sugar, 3 tbsp. lemon juice and 2 tbsp of corn starch to the granny smith apples. I left out the allspice and instead of using melted butter in the topping, I used some canola oil to moisten the crumb topping until it was combined. I microwaved the crisp for about 20 minutes and let it remain in the microwave to cool for about 1/2 hour. It was great not to have my oven throw so much heat and to get such a delicious crisp! *UPDATE* I made this again and added blueberries to the crisp and made it according to the "blueberry apple crisp" recipe on this site (with some modifications - came out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This came out perfectly and was great for a late night sweets craving! I was skeptical about how it would work in the microwave -- but it was PERFECT! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I had two beautiful Gala apples sitting on the counter and I'm really not an apple person, but when I came across this recipe it sounded so delicious I had to try it. Of course I scaled the recipe back to accomodate my two apples but I basicaly kept everything else the same except I added a handful of craisins to the sliced apples. I topped the hot apples with more vanilla ice cream than needed but it was so GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajj82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Very good and so fast and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
So surprising! My husband was even surprised. I made it in a 8 inch pie dish and only needed two large apples and mixed them with some cinnamon and agava syrup before topping. It made a yummy sauce with the juice from the apples while it cooked! The only thing I would change would be the amount of butter in the topping, a little bit on the heavy side for my liking. But is was delish! If you don't tell no one will ever know it was made from a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharveycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I thought this was pretty good considering it was made in the microwave. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Wanted something quick and easy for breakfast before work. This worked great! Scaled the recipe down to one serving and reduced cooking time to 3 mins. Could probably reduced cooking time a little bit more, as apples were a little mushy. But still tasted great! Love the tart taste of the Granny Smith with the sweet brown sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I followed the recipe to a T using a deep dish pie plate...came out perfect. It is a keeper! I used an apple wedger to cut the apples and then peeled them. The slices were the perfect thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States