Microwave Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
We went to a playoff hockey game tonight. We just got in, when at 11:45 at night hubby tells me he is craving apple pie a la mode. I get on allrecipes.com and look up apple cobbler and find this gem. I don't have apples but I do substitute a 21 oz. can of store brand apple pie filling for them. I made the rest of recipe as listed and baked in the microwave for 12 minutes. This was 5 minutes to prepare, 12 minutes to bake; it was delicious. This one is a new favorite of mine!!!! 10 stars for tasty, quick and easy (with the pie filling). Thank you!!!!! I will be submitting my picture of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This a great recipe! My family loved it!I found it very quick and easy to make. I didn't have allspice on hand so in place of the allspice I used 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. cloves. I will make this again. The only other thing I will do different the next time is cook it 10 minutes rather than 12 minutes. With my microwave, 12 minutes made the topping a little on the hard side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I liked that this recipe had few ingredients, and included oatmeal in the topping. I used 6 small granny smith apples, instead of 4 large ones, and doubled the quantity of the topping. Also added some nutmeg along with the cinnamon and allspice. An apple corer saved a lot of time getting the peeled apples sliced (not too thin, or the filling turns to mush). It all fit in an 8x8 clear glass baking dish. I microwaved it for the full 12 minutes, and everything was cooked through and cooked evenly. The topping was nice and chewy, not too dry in my opinion. Might decrease the time just a bit for firmer apples next time, as well as use a little less butter and sugar. I agree with a previous reviewer -- the topping did not really crumble, and had to be put in pats on top. With ice cream and extra ingredients, there was enough for 10-12 people. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I NEVER cook in the microwave (well...maybe popcorn), I only use it to warm things. My 13 year daughter has recently started baking, came across this recipe, thought it sounded easy, and gave it a try. It was WONDERFUL! I can't believe it's cooked in the microwave. The best part is that SHE can whip it up for me with no problem when we have company coming over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTMAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe, turns out crispy on top. I do not melt the butter, I crumb it in with the flour and oatmeal, it comes out crispier this way.I have actually used this recipe for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Very tasty! This was much better than I expected for a microwave dish. I used peanut butter instead of butter and it was delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I decided to try this to use up some baked apples that I had made the night before. It was really good and reminded me of the kind I used to eat as a girl. The only thing I did differently was bake it about 2-3 minutes less since my apples were already done. I bet apple pie filling would be great to use too, will try that next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I thought this was excellent -- I am not a big fan of "baking" in the microwave either but this was easy and really did turn out as described. My only suggestion is to make sure the apples are on the larger side...mine were a bit small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This recipe is super easy and yummy. My kids loved it and asked for me to make it agian tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This recipe was EXACTLY what I was looking for. Even my husband and kids enjoyed this super easy treat! Great microwavable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States