Microwave Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I prepared this "almost" as directed. I just increased the apples, oats and flour since I was having company. It came out perfect and everyone loved it There were no leftovers which disappointed my fiance so I made him some the next day. I served it on antique plates with fresh whipped cream. As a deconstructed dessert it presented beautifully. Is was definitely the star of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Bland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
My mom just made this and for what it is, it's not bad. She followed it exactly. It ended up having a little too much liquid and the topping was quite wet but the flavor was pretty good -even better with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Next time I'll use 3/4 c flour and maybe add a few chopped pecans to the topping. This isn't anything I'd serve company but it was plenty good as a little treat for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This is great as is - I've made it a few times. However, I recently used this recipe to make a peach crisp - I used 2lbs of frozen sliced peaches, thawed. I added a few dabs of butter (actually I used margarine) on the peaches probably totaling an extra tbsp and spaced it evenly around the pan and cooked the dish for about 15 min. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, except reduced butter to 1 tbsp and microwaved it for 12 minutes. The topping turned out dry (but chewable); whereas apples turned out mushy. Overall taste was ok but I will probably not be making it again :) I will stick back to the much delicious and simple "Microwave Baked Apple" by Nicole M. from this site. Thanks for sharing your recipe anyway, Joy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilyLoves2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
It actually tasted very good; however, I got on the phone and didn’t serve it to the toddlers until it cooled and the oatmeal caramelized and was to hard for them. They wouldn’t even try it, but the other day I gave them oatmeal which they did not appreciate. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is very easy and wonderful. My family loved it, and I loved that it didn't heat up the house! I used Fuji apples, I didn't have all spice so I added some nutmeg. I also, always, put a little cinnomon and nutmeg on the apples before cooking them; I added just a few drops of vanilla to the butter before adding the dry ingreadiant, (I mixed all the dry together before adding the wet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Easy, and delicous. I used Macintosh and Old Fashioned Oats, because that is what I had and they still turned out great. I am not sure if that is why my apples were kind of mushy, but I don't mind that. I think if I didn't cook it the whole ten minutes, the topping might not have been done enough. I was happy to make a treat in this heat without warming up the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Great! I like to eat apples in different ways as a snack and cut down this recipe to 1 serving, and made myself some. I didn't want to burn it so I only put it in the microwave for 2 minutes and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This recipe came out so great! I doubled the recipe and placed the ingredients into a large oval microwave-safe dish. I added about 1/4 cup of sugar, 3 tbsp. lemon juice and 2 tbsp of corn starch to the granny smith apples. I left out the allspice and instead of using melted butter in the topping, I used some canola oil to moisten the crumb topping until it was combined. I microwaved the crisp for about 20 minutes and let it remain in the microwave to cool for about 1/2 hour. It was great not to have my oven throw so much heat and to get such a delicious crisp! *UPDATE* I made this again and added blueberries to the crisp and made it according to the "blueberry apple crisp" recipe on this site (with some modifications - came out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This came out perfectly and was great for a late night sweets craving! I was skeptical about how it would work in the microwave -- but it was PERFECT! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States